- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics slow down the Pacers

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On March 16, 2011 @ 10:05 pm In General | 1 Comment

Paul Pierce [1] and Jeff Green [2] combined for 39 points, and the Celtics [3]‘ defense held the Pacers to 37.5 percent shooting in a 92-80 victory Wednesday night at the TD Garden. The Celtics (48-18), who had lost three out of four entering Wednesday night’s game, pulled even with the idle Bulls atop the Eastern Conference.

The ACC combo of Josh McRoberts and Tyler Hansbrough [4] combined for 24 points and 22 rebounds in defeat for the Pacers (29-39), who dropped to a tie – for the time being – with the Bobcats for the eighth playoff spot.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Defense: As Sports Illustrated’s Zach Lowe noted [5], with the exception of holding the Bucks to a record-low 56 points, the Celtics’ defense hasn’t exactly been the shutdown brand the team’s made their bones on since The Trade.

Well, Wednesday may have been a step in the right direction, as the Celtics held the Pacers to 20 points in each of the four quarters. Through the first nine minutes of the second quarter — when they started a lineup of Green, Glen Davis [6], Troy Murphy [7], Delonte West [8] and Carlos Arroyo [9] – the Celtics held the Pacers to just nine points and established the lead.

Green, in particular, did a nice job on Danny Granger [10].

Beyond the Arc: While the Celtics shot just 15-of-35 (42.9 percent) in the first half, their 3-point shooting (5-of-8 for 62.5 percent) saved them a bit in the opening 24 minutes. Specifically, two Ray Allen [11] treys sandwiched around a Pierce triple helped the C’s turn a 33-29 lead into a 42-31 advantage in the span of 58 seconds. They finished 6-of-10 from 3-point range.

The Thunder, up and under: Green and Nenad Krstic [12] combined for 30 points and 10 rebounds. In fact, through the first 20 minutes of the game, Green had more points than the rest of his C’s teammates combined. At halftime, Green led the Celtics in scoring, and Krstic led them in rebounding.

Even Troy Murphy got in on the action, scoring six points on perfect shooting from the field (2-for-2) and free-throw line (2-for-2). Perhaps it was the St. Patrick’s Day luck of the Irish.

WHAT WENT WRONG

Attacking the glass: Celtics head coach Doc Rivers [13] told reporters that Shaquille O’Neal [14] had been doing some shooting — a sign that his return could be imminent — and the news couldn’t come at a better time. The C’s got outworked on the glass by the Pacers, who owned a 49-36 rebounding advantage (including a 19-7 edge in offensive boards).

Offensive flow: The Celtics’ offensive sets looked ugly in the first quarter, almost as if the C’s had gotten a headstart on the St. Patrick’s Day festivities. Allen didn’t even attempt a shot in the opening 12 minutes, and the Celtics scored just 15 points on 7-of-17 shooting in an ugly start to the game.

The curious case of Rajon Rondo [15]: He looked as if he’d risen from the slump that’s plagued him over the last couple weeks, but his production still was perplexing for a player who’s capable of so much more. Here’s his line: 0 points, 0 rebounds, 8 assists, 2 steals 2 turnovers and 1 block.

And while Delonte West made his re-re-re-debut with the Celtics, he and Carlos Arroyo did little to help Rondo on the point guard front.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/16/fast-break-celtics-slow-down-the-pacers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Tyler Hansbrough: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyler-hansbrough.htm

[5] noted: http://nba-point-forward.si.com/2011/03/15/does-bostons-defense-have-interior-problem/

[6] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[7] Troy Murphy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/troy-murphy.htm

[8] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[9] Carlos Arroyo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/carlos-arroyo.htm

[10] Danny Granger: http://media.weei.com/basketball/danny-granger.htm

[11] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[12] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[13] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[14] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[15] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[16] > Fast Break: Celtics slow down the Pacers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/16/fast-break-celtics-slow-down-the-pacers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.