- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee: Delonte West ecstatic about Jeff Green

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On March 18, 2011 @ 2:21 pm In General | 1 Comment

Wake up with the Celtics and your daily dose of Irish Coffee ‘€¦

 

While the Big Four of Paul Pierce [1], Rajon Rondo [2], Kevin Garnett [3] and Ray Allen [4] probably looked at the Celtics-Thunder deadline deal as “The Kendrick Perkins [5] Trade,” at least one member of the C’s saw it from a different perspective.

That’s because Delonte West [6] knew better than his teammates what Jeff Green [7] was capable of contributing, because — as West puts it — everybody who grows up playing basketball in the Washington D.C. greater metropolitan area knows each other. Not to mention the two played together on the SuperSonics for half the 2007-08 season.

“I played with Jeff in a few rec leagues before up at Georgetown, and I played with him in Seattle,” said West. “I know what he can do. I know what he’€™s capable of. In Oklahoma, you had a few guys taking all the shine over there, but when I heard we were getting Jeff Green, I was automatic ecstatic. I’€™ve been in the gym with him before in Seattle. The guy can play.”

Green could play then, and West believes his former teammate is even better now that he’s added a few weapons to his repertoire of skills. Green has averaged 11.1 points on 48.8 percent shooting in 23.1 minutes a night in 10 games for the Celtics.

“Of course he’€™s matured a little bit,” added West. “He’€™s a few years in now, and he’€™s only getting better. I see him shooting that 3 ball real comfortably. I already knew he could run the floor and how easy he can get points for us. That’€™s important.”

THE ASSOCIATION: BOSTON CELTICS [8] (EPISODE IV)

In case you wanted to see just how beaten up The Big Four were about the Perkins trade and you missed Episode IV of “The Association: Boston Celtics,” here you go …

THE SECRET TO PAUL PIERCE’S SUCCESS

In case you wanted to know what has made Paul Pierce a nine-time all-star, it’s squats. Obviously. Let him explain in this awkward exchange with an overly excited workout dude …

(Have a question, concern or conception for tomorrow’€™s Irish Coffee or a future mailbag? Send an e-mail tobrohrbach@weei.com [9] or a Twitter message to @brohrbach [10].)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/18/irish-coffee-delonte-west-ecstatic-about-jeff-green/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[7] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] BOSTON CELTICS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[9] brohrbach@weei.com: mailto:brohrbach@weei.com

[10] @brohrbach: http://twitter.com/brohrbach

[11] > Irish Coffee: Delonte West ecstatic about Jeff Green" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/03/18/irish-coffee-delonte-west-ecstatic-about-jeff-green/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.