- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics need more in reserve

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 23, 2011 @ 6:44 pm In General | 1 Comment

NEW YORK — Step one was getting the defense in order. Step two was finding a way to make the offense function better. Step three, and possibly the final step in getting the Celtics [1] on the right track for the rest of the playoffs is unlocking the potential of the second unit.

Delonte West [2], Jeff Green [3] and Nenad Krstic [4] have all started at various times in their career. Glen Davis [5] is practically a starter for the Celtics, so the talent is there. But for whatever reason those four have not functioned well either as a group, or individually.

The numbers are not pretty. Through three games of the postseason, those four have averaged just nine points, nine rebounds and three assists, while shooting 14-for-45 in 179 minutes.

“It’€™s something I’ve got to do, I know that,” Celtics coach Doc Rivers [6] said on Saturday after the team had a brief walkthrough at Madison Square Garden. “I’€™ve got to get them playing right. We’€™re searching I can tell you that because we need them in this series and we need them to play well.”

No one is standing out for the bench crew right now, which has magnified the pressure on all of them. Rivers had a quiet conversation with Davis after practice and simply told him to keep playing hard.

“We need him,” Rivers said. “He can play better. I can help him play better. I told him I was going to try keeping to do that as long as he keeps his end. Baby’€™s an energy player for us. As Pat Riley [7] used to tell me — and everyone else — thinking hurts the team. When you start thinking what’€™s wrong you usually play poorly.”

Davis has struggled shooting jumpers all season and while he’s started trying to maneuver closer to the basket in recent games, he has had a difficult time shooting over the Knicks more athletic players. Davis is the Celtics most important reserve, but they also need more from Green.

Game 3 wasn’t a breakout game for Green, but it was his best of the playoffs as he scored nine points and earned praise from Rivers for his defense.

“He played much better,” the coach said. “Defensively, he was terrific. He’€™s starting to cut better for us. We got him a couple of nice cuts where he got deep posts and got his spot. He’€™s getting there. Jeff is going to help us.”

This is Green’s first time coming off the bench since his rookie season. He has said that the adjustment is all mental and it’s something he’s still getting used to doing. He also has to be something of a go-to guy for the reserves because they lack a dominant scorer with this group. Should the Celtics advance, Green will become a very important player in their series with the Heat because they play so many unorthodox lineups.

Even with all that no one has struggled more than Krstic. He has attempted just one shot, a jumper in Game 1 when he had a clear path to the basket. He saw second-half minutes in Game 3 only because of the score and he has grabbed just three rebounds in the series.

Rivers hasn’t given up on Krstic yet, but there are other options, namely Troy Murphy [8].

“There’€™s always another guy when the other guy’€™s not working,” Rivers said. “Troy’€™s working his butt off, I can tell you that. Him and Von [Wafer [9]], they may be guys that help us win a game.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/04/23/celtics-need-more-in-reserve/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[3] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[4] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] Pat Riley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pat-riley.htm

[8] Troy Murphy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/troy-murphy.htm

[9] Von [Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[10] > Celtics need more in reserve" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/04/23/celtics-need-more-in-reserve/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.