- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Heat pregame notes: Mike Miller active, Udonis Haslem out

Posted By Kirk Minihane On May 1, 2011 @ 3:10 pm In General | No Comments

MIAMI — Not a single Heat player spoke to the media before the game. More accurately, not a single Heat player was in the locker room during the media availability portion of the proceedings.

Erik Spoelstra [1], however, did meet with the media, and cleaned up some questions regarding player availability for Game 1. Udonis Haslem [2] — out since November (foot surgery) — is inactive.

“We’ve been pushing his workouts a little bit more, but he’s not there yet,” said Spoelstra.

Mike Miller [3] — who missed the last three games of the first-round series win over the 76ers with a left thumb injury — is active today.

“I had every eyeball in the gym watching him all week long, and I told him that,” said Spoelstra of Miller, who played just 41 games in the regular season. “He’s able to play. How much will depend on the game, but he’s been a true professional about it.”

Dwyane Wade [4] was dramatically outplayed by Ray Allen [5] this season in the four Miami-Boston contests, as Wade averaged just 12.8 points on 28.1 percent shooting vs. Allen’s 20.3 points per game on 49.2 percent shooting.

“We need Dwyane to be effective, we need him to score,” said Spoelstra. “More so than any other player I’ve ever been around, he can figure defenses out. … So now he’s had more time to see how Boston has played him. The first two games, not an excuse, you have to give Boston credit for defense, but he was just coming back. He’ll be able to figure it out and strike the balance of being aggressive at some points for us, but also showing the poise that he showed last game.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/01/heat-pregame-notes-mike-miller-active-udonis-haslam-out/

URLs in this post:

[1] Erik Spoelstra: http://media.weei.com/basketball/erik-spoelstra.htm

[2] Udonis Haslem: http://media.weei.com/basketball/udonis-haslem.htm

[3] Mike Miller: http://media.weei.com/golf/mike-miller.htm

[4] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] > Heat pregame notes: Mike Miller active, Udonis Haslem out" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/01/heat-pregame-notes-mike-miller-active-udonis-haslam-out/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[7]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.