- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics fall as Heat turn it on in overtime

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On May 9, 2011 @ 10:06 pm In General | 9 Comments

Behind 35 points and 14 rebounds from LeBron James [1], the Heat took the Celtics [2] to overtime, where Miami outscored the C’s 12-4 and captured a 98-90 victory Monday night that pushed Boston to the brink of elimination entering Game 5 on Wednesday night.

Paul Pierce [3] matched his Game 3 effort of 27 points, but Kevin Garnett [4] scored just seven on 1-of-10 shooting after netting 28 points in the C’s only victory of the series.

WHAT WENT WRONG

LeBron James goes off: As impressive as Pierce was, James matched him every step of the way. He scored 20 first-half points on 7-of-14 shooting and grabbed five rebounds before the break. He and Dwyane Wade [5] combined for 34 of the Heat’s 50 first-half points. Outside of that duo, who kept their team with three points in the opening 24 minutes, the Heat role players struggled severely, shooting just 7-of-18 in the first half.

Second-half offense: Probably fatigued, the Celtics ran a stagnant offense in the second half — moving the ball slowly. After shooting 58.1 percent from the field as a team in the first half, the C’s made just 12-of-39 (30.8 percent) in the second half and overtime.

Chris Bosh’s third quarter: The Heat desperately needed somebody other than James or Wade to step up in the second half, and Bosh answered that call. In the third quarter alone, he made 3-of-4 shots for six points in addition to grabbing seven rebounds — actually pushing the Heat lead to four points at one point. Meanwhile, Garnett missed all four of his shots in the third quarter. The third member of Miami’s Big Three kept the Heat within striking distance entering the fourth quarter (73-69). Bosh outscored Garnett by 13 points.

Big Baby’s funk is severe: Struggling for most of the playoffs, Davis took two jump shots that didn’t even approach touching the rim. He scored just four points on 1-of-4 shooting and did not grab a rebound or dish out an assist. This is a guy who received votes for Sixth Man of the Year, and he’s been giving the Celtics nothing in this series.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Paul Pierce heats up early, again: Despite a less than capacity crowd at the start the game as a result of a traffic jam, Pierce showed up early — recording 16 points on six shots to go along with four rebounds in the first quarter. The Celtics led by as many as eight points and led 31-28 after the opening 12 minutes, giving the late-arriving fans plenty to cheer.

Jermaine O’Neal [6] contributes: O’Neal produced eight points, three rebounds and two assists before halftime, providing much-needed energy at the center position. However, he did not score and grabbed only one rebound after halftime. Defensively, O’Neal neutralized Joel Anthony [7] (4 points, 4 rebounds), who got his first start of the playoffs.

The bench presses the Heat: In perhaps their most impressive stretch of the postseason, a Celtics lineup of Jeff Green [8]Delonte West [9]Glen Davis [10]Ray Allen [11] and Jermaine O’Neal played the first 5:06 of the second quarter, actually stretching the C’s lead to as many as 11 points (42-31). A Green corner 3-pointer and a pair of West pull-up jumpers highlighted a run that forced the Heat to call for a timeout.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/09/fast-break-celtics-fall-as-heat-turn-it-on-in-overtime/

URLs in this post:

[1] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[6] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[7] Joel Anthony: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joel-anthony.htm

[8] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[9] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[10] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[11] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[12] > Fast Break: Celtics fall as Heat turn it on in overtime" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/09/fast-break-celtics-fall-as-heat-turn-it-on-in-overtime/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.