- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rajon Rondo, Kevin Garnett named First Team All-Defense

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 9, 2011 @ 2:30 pm In General | No Comments

Kevin Garnett [1] tied an NBA record with his ninth appearance on the NBA All-Defensive First Team, the league announced on Monday. Garnett’s teammate Rajon Rondo [2] was also named to the First Team, drawing the second-most votes behind Defensive Player of the Year Dwight Howard [3]. This is Rondo’s second straight First-Team appearance. He made the Second Team in 2008-09.

Kobe Bryant [4] and LeBron James [5] were also voted on to the First Team. It was also Bryant’s ninth First Team nod, which allowed him and Garnett to tie the all-time record for First Team appearances held by Michael Jordan [6] and Gary Payton.

Former Celtic Tony Allen [7] received enough votes for a Second Team nod along with Chris Paul [8], Andre Iguodala [9], Joakim Noah [10] and Tyson Chandler [11].

The voting was done by the 30 head coaches and coaches are not allowed for one of their players. Here’s the full breakdown:

2010-11 NBA ALL-DEFENSIVE FIRST TEAM

Position, Player, Team 1st 2nd Points

Center Dwight Howard, Orlando 27 2 56
Guard Rajon Rondo, Boston 16 7 39
Forward LeBron James, Miami 17 4 38
Guard Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers 13 7 33
Forward Kevin Garnett, Boston 15 3 33

2010-11 NBA ALL-DEFENSIVE SECOND TEAM

Position, Player, Team 1st 2nd Points

Guard Tony Allen, Memphis 7 9 23
Guard Chris Paul, New Orleans 6 6 18
Center Tyson Chandler, Dallas 3 11 17
Forward Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia 5 5 15
Forward/Center Joakim Noah, Chicago 3 9 15


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/09/rajon-rondo-kevin-garnett-named-first-team-all-defense/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[6] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[7] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[8] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[9] Andre Iguodala: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-iguodala.htm

[10] Joakim Noah: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joakim-noah.htm

[11] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[12] > Rajon Rondo, Kevin Garnett named First Team All-Defense" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/09/rajon-rondo-kevin-garnett-named-first-team-all-defense/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.