- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Why Erik Spoelstra and the Heat still fear Kevin Garnett and the C’s

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 10, 2011 @ 12:04 pm In General | No Comments

p


brightcove.createExperiences();

After Saturday night’s 28-point, 18-rebound performance, Erik Spoelstra [1] called Kevin Garnett [2] the modern-day Kareem Abdul-Jabbar [3].

After his team found a way to hold Garnett to 1-of-10 shooting from the field and seven points in a 98-90 overtime win over the Celtics Monday night, Spoelstra wasn’t about to say he found any miraculous answer. And if he did, he wasn’t about to share it anyway.

‘€œI’€™m not going to say anything about it,” Spoelstra said. “Now he’€™s got 48 hours to gain all his fuel again and fuel him up. I’€™m sure if I actually paid attention, everybody will be saying whatever they will be saying about him.”

Chris Bosh was a big piece of the puzzle on Monday night, so was Joel Anthony [4], the surprise starter at center for Zydrunas Ilgauskas [5].

“He’€™s a champion,” Spoelstra said of KG. “I have incredible respect for him. We tried to be active defensively. We tried to not leave people on an island. I anticipate we’€™ll get their best games on Wednesday and we have to be better than that. If we’€™re real about what we want to do, we have to beat the Boston Celtics [6] at their best.’€

All of that is well and good but Doc Rivers [7] knows he has to have more out of KG Wednesday night in Miami if the Celtics have a prayer of chance to bring the series back to the Garden for Game 6 Friday night.

“I don’€™t know,” Rivers responded when asked if Garnett was tentative. “They trapped him a couple of times and I thought he was probably looking more for traps. We have to get him down there more; we tried. So, I don’€™t know. I don’€™t think so. I think he was looking for ‘€“ he was looking to be a passer to me more than being an aggressive scorer. And that was that.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/10/why-erik-spoelstra-and-the-heat-still-fear-kevin-garnett-and-the-cs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Erik Spoelstra: http://media.weei.com/basketball/erik-spoelstra.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kareem-abdul-jabbar.htm

[4] Joel Anthony: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joel-anthony.htm

[5] Zydrunas Ilgauskas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/zydrunas-ilgauskas.htm

[6] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] > Why Erik Spoelstra and the Heat still fear Kevin Garnett and the C’s" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/10/why-erik-spoelstra-and-the-heat-still-fear-kevin-garnett-and-the-cs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.