- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics made Doc Rivers highest-paid NBA coach

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On May 19, 2011 @ 10:47 am In General | No Comments

Following the retirement of Phil Jackson [1], formerly the only eight-figure earner among coaches in the four major sports, Doc Rivers [2] has become the highest paid coach in the NBA, according  to Forbes Magazine [3].

After making $5.5 million this past season, Rivers will now make an average of $7 million over the next five seasons after signing a $35 million extension. He surpassed Spurs coach Gregg Popovich [4] and Knicks coach Mike D’Antoni, who both make $6 million per season.

Interestingly, the magazine credits the jumps by Rick Pitino [5] from the University of Kentucky to the Celtics [6] and John Calipari [7] from UMass to the Nets [8] “as the catalysts driving NBA coaching salaries to a new level.”

Meanwhile, the Celtics may have to hire a new assistant coach, as Lawrence Frank [9] is a candidate for the opening head coaching positions for the Warriors [10] and Rockets, although Mavericks assistant Dwane Casey appears to be the favorite in Houston, according to CBS Sports.

As a side note, Forbes determined Patriots head coach Bill Belichick [11]‘s annual estimated salary of $7.5 million is the highest paycheck for any coach in the four major sports.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/19/report-celtics-made-doc-rivers-highest-paid-nba-coach/

URLs in this post:

[1] Phil Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phil-jackson.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] according  to Forbes Magazine: http://www.forbes.com/2011/05/18/highest-paid-sports-coaches.html

[4] Gregg Popovich: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gregg-popovich.htm

[5] Rick Pitino: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-rick-pitino.htm

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] John Calipari: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-john-calipari.htm

[8] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[9] Lawrence Frank: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lawrence-frank.htm

[10] a candidate for the opening head coaching positions for the Warriors: http://ken-berger.blogs.cbssports.com/mcc/blogs/entry/11838893/29398511

[11] Bill Belichick: http://media.weei.com/football/bill-belichick.htm

[12] > Celtics made Doc Rivers highest-paid NBA coach" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/05/19/report-celtics-made-doc-rivers-highest-paid-nba-coach/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.