- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA draft day rumors, 10 a.m.: Lakers tried to deal Lamar Odom

Posted By Ryan Hannable On June 23, 2011 @ 10:22 am In General | 1 Comment

Without holding a first-round pick in Thursday’s NBA draft, the Lakers reportedly tried to get into the first round [1] by attempting to deal Lamar Odom to the Timberwolves [2] for the No. 2 pick.

According to The Los Angeles Times, the Lakers offered Odom for the No. 2 pick, and they planned to select Arizona’s Derrick Williams [3], but the Timberwolves turned down the offer. The Timberwolves countered by trying to make a deal for All-Star forward Pau Gasol [4] or center Andrew Bynum [5]. Talks broke down shortly after as the Lakers showed no interest in dealing Gasol or Bynum.

CBS Sports is reporting [6] that the Lakers tried to trade Odom to the Warriors for Monta Ellis [7]. The trade would also include Lakers guard Shannon Brown [8], but the talks went nowhere.

The Lakers do not have a first-round pick in 2011, having traded it to New Jersey when they dealt Sasha Vujacic to the Nets [9]. This is the second straight season that the Lakers do not have a first-round pick.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/06/23/nba-draft-day-rumors-10-a-m-lakers-tried-to-deal-lamar-odom/

URLs in this post:

[1] Lakers reportedly tried to get into the first round: http://www.latimes.com/sports/basketball/nba/lakers/la-sp-lakers-odom-draft-20110623,0,715105.story

[2] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[3] Derrick Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-williams.htm

[4] Pau Gasol: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[5] Andrew Bynum: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bynum.htm

[6] CBS Sports is reporting: http://ken-berger.blogs.cbssports.com/mcc/blogs/entry/11838893/30206749?source=rss_blogs_NBA

[7] Monta Ellis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/monta-ellis.htm

[8] Shannon Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shannon-brown.htm

[9] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[10] > NBA draft day rumors, 10 a.m.: Lakers tried to deal Lamar Odom" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/06/23/nba-draft-day-rumors-10-a-m-lakers-tried-to-deal-lamar-odom/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.