- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Mickael Pietrus: ‘Celtics are interested in me’

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On July 7, 2011 @ 10:10 am In General | 4 Comments

Four months after the Celtics [1] could have used his services — and possibly avoided trading Kendrick Perkins [2] for Jeff Green [3] — Suns swingman Mickael Pietrus [4] is claiming the C’s are interested in him, according to French newspaper L’Équipe [5] (via HoopsHype [6]).

Phoenix didn’€™t use me, but that’€™s their problem. I’€™m going to continue working. The only thing I care about is winning a title. … A lot of teams are interested in me, like the Lakers or the Celtics. This came from the best player in the world: Kobe Bryant [7]. He told me two months ago that he would like to see me with the Lakers.

It’s unclear whether the curiosity coming from Boston is new or just an aftereffect from the rumors that circled around Pietrus [8] and fellow Suns swingmen Grant Hill [9] and Jared Dudley [10] before this past NBA trade deadline.

Pietrus is slated to make $5.3 million from the Suns next season, so his relocation would require a trade. If such a trade were to involve the Celtics, they would have to either sign and trade Glen Davis [11] or another player packaged with their $2.4 million trade exception.

So, just to get this straight, the NBA would have to reach a collective bargaining agreement with the players association, the Celtics would have to sign a free agent and then they could start working with the Suns on a potential deal. Somehow I doubt the Celtics have made any phone calls to Phoenix inquiring about Pietrus since the trade deadline this past winter.

Not that Pietrus wouldn’t fit with the Celtics. In 57 games for the Magic and Suns in 2010-11, he averaged 7.2 points and 2.2 rebounds in 19.4 minutes — and based on the Frenchman’s comments to L’Équipe he clearly felt the Suns didn’t use him properly.

As a spot-up shooter (at least 36 percent from 3-point range in his last five seasons) who defended, Pietrus played a valuable role in the Magic’s run to the NBA Finals [12] in 2009, averaging 10.5 points on 48.3 percent shooting off the bench in 24 playoff games.

Just don’t get too excited about this rumor. A lot of dominoes would have to fall before it could happen.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/07/07/mickael-pietrus-celtics-are-interested-in-me/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[3] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[4] Mickael Pietrus: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mickael-pietrus.htm

[5] according to French newspaper L’Équipe: http://www.lequipe.fr/Basket/breves2011/20110707_080940_m-pietrus-partager-et-gagner.html

[6] via HoopsHype: http://hoopshype.com/rumors.htm

[7] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[8] the rumors that circled around Pietrus: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/02/23/irish-coffee-ultimate-celtics-rumor-roundup/

[9] Grant Hill: http://media.weei.com/basketball/grant-hill.htm

[10] Jared Dudley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jared-dudley.htm

[11] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[12] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[13] > Mickael Pietrus: ‘Celtics are interested in me’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/07/07/mickael-pietrus-celtics-are-interested-in-me/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.