- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Your daily Rajon Rondo update: At Patriots practice

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On August 1, 2011 @ 8:36 am In General | 3 Comments

Celtics [1] point guard Rajon Rondo [2] attended Patriots practice on Sunday and chatted up head coach Bill Belichick [3] as well as a number of players, including newest Patriots wide receiver Chad Ochocinco [4] and nose tackle Vince Wilfork [5], who had developed a friendly relationship with as a regular attendee of Celtics games at the Garden.

Growing up in Louisville [6], Ky., Rondo played quarterback in youth football leagues, but his mother steered her 6-foot-1, 170-pound son toward a life of basketball as a safety matter.  Perhaps that’s where he developed the toughness to finish Game 3 and play in Games 4 and 5 with a dislocated elbow.

Here are some more pictures from Rondo’s day at Patriots training camp …

Former Celtics backup point guard Nate Robinson [7] — a two-sport standout at the University of Washington — recently told SLAM Online that he’d like to play in the NFL should the NBA lockout continue. Not that Rondo is following his lead, although the two did play football at Celtics practice once upon a time along with Kevin Garnett [8], Shaquille O’Neal [9] and Danny Ainge among others. Here’s the video to prove it …

Of course, for an unemployed guy, Rondo has been incredibly busy over the past week …


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/08/01/your-daily-rajon-rondo-update-at-patriots-practice/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Bill Belichick: http://media.weei.com/football/bill-belichick.htm

[4] Chad Ochocinco: http://media.weei.com/football/chad-ochocinco.htm

[5] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[6] Louisville: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/louisville-cardinals.htm

[7] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[10] he told Yahoo! Sports: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/07/26/rajon-rondo-and-his-celtics-teammates-let-the-kendrick-perkins-trade-get-into-their-heads/

[11] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[12] evidence of Rondo’€™s healing elbow: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/07/27/rajon-rondo-can-bend-his-elbow-just-fine/

[13] playing in an August 15 exhibition game: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/07/28/impromptu-irish-coffee-the-next-bill-russell/

[14] Kentucky: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-wall-wizards.htm

[15] John Calipari alerted us: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/07/29/your-daily-rajon-rondo-update-back-to-school/

[16] John Wall: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-wall.htm

[17] > Your daily Rajon Rondo update: At Patriots practice" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/08/01/your-daily-rajon-rondo-update-at-patriots-practice/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.