- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee: Top 5 plays by Celtics during NBA lockout

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 21, 2011 @ 2:49 pm In General | No Comments

Wake up with the Celtics [1] and your daily dose of Irish Coffee ‘€¦

The latest news from collective bargaining negotiations [2] between NBA owners and players isn’t good. Media members can’t decide whether Celtics co-owner Wyc Grousbeck is among owners who actually want a season [3] or ones sustaining the lockout [4]. Either way, the biggest losers in all of this are NBA fans. This list of top of Top 5 plays by Celtics during the NBA lockout goes out to us losers (wait, what?):

5. Glen “Big Baby” Davis seemingly losing to a fourth-grader at the IMG Basketball Academy

4. Avery Bradley [5]‘s killer crossover at the Impact Basketball Competitive Training Series in Las Vegas (2:45)

3. Jeff Green [6]‘s lefty dunk on JaJuan Johnson [7] in the Goodman League vs. Indy Pro-Am exhibition (0:55)

2. Paul Pierce [8]‘s go-ahead 3-pointer at “Legends of the Phog” University of Kansas alumni game

1. Rajon Rondo [9]‘s no-look alley-oop to Kenneth Faried for the Big Blue All-Stars

QUICK RELEASE: CELTICS LINKS

Željko Obradović, head coach of Greek club Panathinaikos B.C., told worldwide basketball website Sportando.net [10] that his team denied Celtics All-Star forward Kevin Garnett [11]‘s offer to play for them. …

If Doc Rivers [12] could coach any team in any era, he would coach the 1985-86 NBA champion Celtics [13]. “I’d love to coach Danny Ainge, since he’s my GM. I would love to just get a hold of him a little bit. That would be great.” …

In an article that details the mentorship [14] of University of Kentucky freshman guard Marquis Teague — younger brother of Hawks guard Jeff Teague [15] — by Rajon Rondo, Wildcats head coach John Calipari [16] once again heaped praise on the Celtics point guard:

“Right now, I can’t tell you how hard Rondo is working. It’s incredible. As this thing comes back, Rondo will have a knockout year, no question in my mind. They are going to look at who the heck is this guy in Boston because of how hard he’s working.” …

IMG training coordinator Dan Barto said he hopes mentorship [17] from Glen Davis [18] will benefit Lakers forward Derrick Caracter. And every Lakers fan ever just shook his head in disbelief. The NBA lockout: It’s FAN-tastic!

(Have a question, concern or conception for tomorrow’€™s Irish Coffee? Send a message to @brohrbach [19] on Twitter.)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/10/21/irish-coffee-top-5-plays-by-celtics-during-nba-lockout/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] news from collective bargaining negotiations: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/paul-flannery/2011/10/21/lockout-never-ends

[3] owners who actually want a season: http://www.nypost.com/p/sports/more_sports/fuse_lit_on_season_as_sides_point_4ZSoa0a41HGc9Z4mnZ4aJI

[4] ones sustaining the lockout: https://twitter.com/#!/AlexKennedyNBA/status/127229327740907520

[5] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] JaJuan Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jajuan-johnson.htm

[8] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] told worldwide basketball website Sportando.net: https://twitter.com/#!/SportandoBasket/status/127151041304203265

[11] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[12] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[13] he would coach the 1985-86 NBA champion Celtics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOFTGWXVtbg

[14] an article that details the mentorship: http://mississippistate.scout.com/2/1119693.html

[15] Jeff Teague: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-teague.htm

[16] John Calipari: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-john-calipari.htm

[17] said he hopes mentorship: http://lakersblog.latimes.com/lakersblog/2011/10/derrick-caracter-successful-season.html

[18] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[19] @brohrbach: https://twitter.com/#!/brohrbach

[20] > Irish Coffee: Top 5 plays by Celtics during NBA lockout" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/10/21/irish-coffee-top-5-plays-by-celtics-during-nba-lockout/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[21]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.