- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee Archives: Celtics Halloween

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 31, 2011 @ 1:36 pm In General | No Comments

Wake up with the Celtics [1] and your daily dose of Irish Coffee ‘€¦

What a difference a year makes. Three games into the 2010-11 NBA season, Ray Allen [2]‘s party and Shaquille O’Neal [3]‘s tour of Boston dressed as a woman last Halloween set the tone for what appeared to be a likable Celtics group that seemed destined for a third Finals appearance in four seasons.

That optimism soon devolved into a succession of injuries, the trade that shall not be referenced, another late-season slide,  a playoff beatdown courtesy of the hated Heat and the ongoing misery that is the NBA lockout.

Still, we’ll always have the legendary Top 10 Celtics Halloween photos from 2010 — featuring a cameo by Red Sox [4] slugger David Ortiz [5] (followed by a handful of links, including Avery Bradley [6]‘s status overseas) …

10. Glen Davis [7] as “Big Baby”

9. Delonte West [8] as “V” (from “V for Vendetta [9]“)

8. Paul Pierce [10] as “The Frog”  (from “The Princess and the Frog [11]“)

7.  Kevin Garnett [12] as “DJ Lance Rock” (from “Yo Gabba Gabba! [13]“)

6. Marquis Daniels [14] as “Reverend Daniels”

5. Ray Allen as “1970s Michael Jackson [15]

4. David Ortiz as “Wolverine”

3. Rajon Rondo [16] as “Tiger Woods [17]

2. Jermaine O’Neal [18] as “Mr. T”

1. Shaquille O’Neal as “Shaqeeta”

QUICK RELEASE: CELTICS LINKS

Rumors about Avery Bradley‘s future with Hapoel Jerusalem continue to fly, as Eurobasket.com senior writer Dubi Pick tweeted that Marcus Banks of all people could replace [19] the second-year Celtics guard on the Israeli basketball squad. Before you commence full panic mode, realize that Hapoel Jerusalem (1-2) is seeking a player who can contribute long-term — and Bradley isn’t that guy.

Considering Bradley has an opt-out clause and the NBA inched closer to a deal [20] that would end the lockout, he could leave his Israeli club without their starting point guard at a moment’s notice. Bradley impressed in his second appearance for Hapoel Jersusalem, totaling 21 points (on 8-of-15 shooting), two rebounds, one steal, one rebound and a block in a 95-93 loss to Ironi Ashkelon. …

Celtics starting point guard Rajon Rondo‘s comments to Yahoo! Sports [21] over the weekend indicated that the veteran Celtics will not hold any players-only training sessions together until the lockout ends — and that could pay dividends down the road. ‘€œIt might help us. Fresher legs. Not as much wear and tear without [a normal] training camp,’€ Rondo said, adding, ‘€œGuys have to come mentally and physically prepared whenever we start.’€

While Celtics players may not reconvene before an official training camp begins, the coaching staff is already preparing for the coming season. As The Globe’s Gary Washburn detailed in his Sunday notes column [22], head coach Doc Rivers [23] met with assistants Kevin Eastman, Armond Hill, Mike Longabardi and Jamie Young for the first of many brainstorming sessions earlier this month. ‘€œWe work on our stuff, we work on our team,’€™’€™ Rivers said. ‘€œWe talk about the things we did well, the things we didn’€™t do well last year, what we need to do this year to not lose to Miami. As a staff, you just work and get ready, and that’€™s all you can do.’€™’€™ …

Puerto Rico captured gold [24] at the Pan American Games, but Celtics free agent point guard Carlos Arroyo [25] sat out the entire run with a hamstring injury. …

ESPN’s “Unguarded” documentary about the life and times of former Celtics guard and local legend Chris Herren is getting rave reviews [26]. The film debuts on Tuesday at 8 p.m. …

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck spoke at the World Health Forum [27] late last week but avoided lockout talk, simply saying, “That would be a hefty fine.” …

Any Brian Scalabrine [28] interview is worth noting, and HoopsHype’s Q&A [29] over the weekend is no different. Asked about the best team he’s ever played on, Scalabrine said, “The team that won in ’08 was really good, but I really believe that the 2010 team during the playoffs was a better team. But that ’08 team was one of the best regular-season teams I’ve ever been on …

The first game of the World All-Star Classic slated to include Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce and Rondo was canceled [30], which leaves the rest of the tour in jeopardy.

(Have a question, concern or conception for tomorrow’€™s Irish Coffee? Send a message to @brohrbach [31] on Twitter.)


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/10/31/irish-coffee-archives-celtics-halloween/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[4] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[5] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[6] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[7] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[8] Delonte West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[9] V for Vendetta: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0434409/

[10] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[11] The Princess and the Frog: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0780521/

[12] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[13] Yo Gabba Gabba!: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0877512/

[14] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[15] Michael Jackson: http://media.weei.com/celebrities/michael-jackson.htm

[16] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[17] Tiger Woods: http://media.weei.com/golf/tiger-woods.htm

[18] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[19] could replace: http://twitter.com/#!/DubiPick/status/130789525160071168

[20] the NBA inched closer to a deal: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/10/30/sports/basketball/nba-deal-is-close-but-last-hurdle-is-a-big-one.html?_r=1&src=tp

[21] comments to Yahoo! Sports: http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news;_ylt=ApM9xKBaUICITG5pSjgR4Dm8vLYF?slug=mc-spears_nba_lockout_best_teams_102911

[22] Sunday notes column: http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/articles/2011/10/23/the_small_markets_are_running_this_nba_show/?page=1

[23] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[24] captured gold: http://www.fiba.com/pages/eng/fc/news/lateNews/p/newsid/49888/arti.html

[25] Carlos Arroyo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/carlos-arroyo.htm

[26] rave reviews: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lloyd-i-sederer-md/chris-herren-addiction_b_1063575.html

[27] the World Health Forum: http://www.bizjournals.com/boston/news/2011/10/27/celtics-ceo-at-world-health-forum.html

[28] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[29] HoopsHype’s Q&A: http://blogs.hoopshype.com/blogs/sierra/2011/10/29/brian-scalabrine-the-guys-that-have-played-with-me-respect-what-i-do-a-lot/

[30] was canceled: https://twitter.com/#!/WojYahooNBA/status/130057791829315585

[31] @brohrbach: https://twitter.com/#!/brohrbach

[32] > Irish Coffee Archives: Celtics Halloween" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/10/31/irish-coffee-archives-celtics-halloween/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[33]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.