- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee: Naturally, Celtics legend Bill Russell taught Joe Torre everything he knows

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On November 17, 2011 @ 12:08 pm In General | No Comments

Naturally, former Yankees manager Joe Torre [1] — who grew up in Brooklyn as the Knicks lost three consecutive NBA Finals [2] appearances from 1950-53 in his formative years — is a Boston Celtics [3] fan. Ugh.

“I was a Boston Celtics fan,” Torre told CBSSports.com. “In fact, I really got my idea of team play from watching the Celtics in the ’50s with those guys, how they shared the ball all the time. Bill Russell [4], of course, when I met him and told him that story, I think he was a little surprised. I just love that nobody was bigger than the other guy.”

At least we can now credit Russell for the four Yankees World Series [5] titles from 1996-2000. Add them to his list of championships. I know this Torre type. I’m sure he was a Steelers fan in the 1970s, too. Typical.

DELONTE WEST [6] HEADING FAR EAST?

According to a SheridanHoops.com report [7], the Guangdong (Beavis: “Huh-huh huh-huh-huh) Southern Tigers of the Chinese Basketball Association “is contacting Rodney Stuckey [8] and Delonte West, one of whom may come to China.” However, over the summer, West claimed a judge ruled he could not play overseas due to his ongoing probation from a 2010 weapons charge, which isn’t expected to end until July 2012.

The same report also suggests the Xinjiang Flying Tigers — the league’s richest team — might pursue Celtics free agent point guard Carlos Arroyo [9] or potential free agent target Jamal Crawford [10]. That scenario appears far more likely, especially considering the most recent NBA lockout news.

QUICK RELEASE: CELTICS LINKS

Former Celtics forward Leon Powe [11] is among the four players to file an antitrust lawsuit [12] against the NBA in Oakland federal court. An addition four players filed a similar suit in Minneapolis. …

Shaquille O’Neal [13] will be signing copies of his book [14], “Shaq Uncut: My Story,” at the Harvard Book Store in Cambridge at 1 p.m. on Saturday. So, for those attending Rajon Rondo [15]‘s charity game later that evening, grab an autograph in Harvard Square. …

Here [16] is the latest track from Marquis Daniels [17] (a.k.a. Q6): “Florida Girls,” featuring Chynah. And if you’re in Waco, Texas on Dec. 1., Daniels is scheduled to play in an exhibition game [14] with Kevin Durant [18], Tracy McGrady [19], John Wall [20], LaMarcus Aldridge and a bunch of other unemployed NBA players. …

Celtics coach Doc Rivers [21] attended the Kansas-Kentucky game [22] on Wednesday, as did Spike Lee, Jason Sudeikis and Paul Rudd. I’m sure they all went to the game together in the same smart car.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/11/17/irish-coffee-naturally-celtics-legend-bill-russell-taught-joe-torre-everything-he-knows/

URLs in this post:

[1] Joe Torre: http://media.weei.com/baseball/joe-torre.htm

[2] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[5] World Series: http://media.weei.com/baseball/world-series.htm

[6] DELONTE WEST: http://media.weei.com/basketball/delonte-west.htm

[7] a SheridanHoops.com report: http://sheridanhoops.com/2011/11/16/chinese-basketball-news/

[8] Rodney Stuckey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rodney-stuckey.htm

[9] Carlos Arroyo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/carlos-arroyo.htm

[10] Jamal Crawford: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jamal-crawford.htm

[11] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[12] an antitrust lawsuit: http://www.nbcbayarea.com/news/local/NBA-Players-File-Suit-in-Oakland-134034128.html

[13] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[14] signing copies of his book: http://www.thecrimson.com/article/2011/11/16/shaq-harvard-book-square/

[15] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[16] Here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JHRxWV-EMl4

[17] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[18] Kevin Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[19] Tracy McGrady: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tracy-mcgrady.htm

[20] John Wall: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-wall.htm

[21] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[22] attended the Kansas-Kentucky game: http://www2.ljworld.com/news/2011/nov/16/loud-and-clear-uk-pulls-away-makes-statement/

[23] > Irish Coffee: Naturally, Celtics legend Bill Russell taught Joe Torre everything he knows" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/11/17/irish-coffee-naturally-celtics-legend-bill-russell-taught-joe-torre-everything-he-knows/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[24]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.