- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA Free Agency: James Jones agrees to re-sign with Heat

Posted By Justin Doubleday On December 9, 2011 @ 11:55 am In General | No Comments

Small forward James Jones [1] will re-sign with the Heat, agent Joel Bell revealed to the South Florida Sun Sentinel [2]. The contract is three years for an undisclosed value.

Jones is known for his 3-point shooting ability. He scored 5.9 points per game for Miami last season while shooting 42.9 percent from beyond the arc. Jones also won the 2011 NBA 3-point shootout during All-Star Weekend, beating out Celtics [3] Paul Pierce [4] and Ray Allen [5].

With Jones re-signing, the Heat will be have plenty of depth at small forward, as the team also cut a deal with Shane Battier [6] this week. Mike Miller [7] is expected to miss up to eight weeks at the beginning of the season after undergoing hernia surgery.

The Heat also agreed to re-sign point guard Mario Chalmers [8] on Friday morning, according to ESPN.com [9]. Chalmers averaged 6.8 points and 2.5 assists last season but upped his points per game to 11.8 in the NBA finals [10].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/09/nba-free-agency-james-jones-agrees-to-re-sign-with-heat/

URLs in this post:

[1] James Jones: http://media.weei.com/football/james-jones.htm

[2] South Florida Sun Sentinel: http://twitter.com/#!/IraHeatBeat/status/145172820073259009

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Shane Battier: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shane-battier.htm

[7] Mike Miller: http://media.weei.com/golf/mike-miller.htm

[8] Mario Chalmers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mario-chalmers.htm

[9] according to ESPN.com: http://espn.go.com/nba/truehoop/miamiheat/story/_/id/7335163/mario-chalmers-miami-heat-agree-slated-practice

[10] NBA finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[11] > NBA Free Agency: James Jones agrees to re-sign with Heat" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/09/nba-free-agency-james-jones-agrees-to-re-sign-with-heat/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.