- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics hold on to beat Raptors

Posted By Paul Flannery On December 18, 2011 @ 3:32 pm In General | 1 Comment

With only two preseason games and the start of the season just week away, Celtics [1] coach Doc Rivers [2] said he would give his starters and his top rotation players significant time in their exhibition game against the Raptors and the coach was as good as his word.

Even without Paul Pierce [3] (right heel) and Sasha Pavlovic [4] (left wrist), Rivers used just 10 players in the first half and the Celtics coach didn’t go deep into his bench until the fourth quarter. It wasn’t a coincidence that the Celtics blew a 10-point lead in the final quarter, but held on for a 76-75 victory in Toronto.

Here’s the good and the bad:

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Marquis Daniels [5] started for Pierce and played well. He’s one of the team’s better post-up options and he remains a good cutter who helps facilitate the team’s offense with his movement off the ball. With Jeff Green [6] out for the season, Daniels has become an important reserve. He’ll get most of the time behind Pierce and also play some off-guard for the Celtics as well. He came into camp in terrific shape and said that he’s stronger than he was before undergoing surgery for a spinal condition.

– Rivers called center Jermaine O’Neal [7] the MVP of the first week of camp and at times he was the best player on the floor for the Celtics. O’Neal said that he feels more comfortable offensively and understands where he needs to be to contribute. Defensively, his shot-blocking presence is invaluable for a team with a shortage of big men.

Brandon Bass [8] continues to impress with a diverse offensive game. He hit jumpers coming off down screens and in isolation and ran the floor with Rajon Rondo [9] for a sweet dunk in transition. Bass is the best offensive weapon the Celtics have had coming off the bench in years.

– The Celtics were the worst offensive rebounding team in the league by a wide margin last season. That should change with Bass and Chris Wilcox [10] on board. Both are energy players with athleticism and timing and they weren’t afraid to crash the boards.

E’Twuan Moore drained a couple of late jumpers, showing again why the team is so high on their second-round pick.

WHAT WENT WRONG

– The hope is that Pierce can return to practice this week, but until he returns the Celtics are dangerously thin at the small forward spot. The Celtics insist that there’s noting to worry about with Pierce, but any time one of their core players misses this much time it’s a concern.

– Without much depth at small forward, Rivers used a number of three-guard lineups with Keyon Dooling [11], Avery Bradley [12], Moore, Ray Allen [13] and Rondo. They were successful in speeding up the tempo of the game, something that has been an emphasis throughout camp, but struggled to score without Allen or Rondo in the game.

Shot creation will be something to watch all season from the reserves. The Celtics struggled mightily in that regard last season and while Dooling, Bass and Wilcox are an offensive upgrade, none of them excels at creating his own offense.

– Rookie JaJuan Johnson [14] did not see the court until the fourth quarter, an indication that he has work to do to see some playing time. Rivers has said that Johnson has been up and down throughout camp, which is to be expected for a rookie. The team loves his outside shot and athleticism. He’ll get his chances during the season.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/18/fast-break-celtics-hold-on-to-beat-raptors/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Sasha Pavlovic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/aleksandar-pavlovic.htm

[5] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[8] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[11] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[12] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[13] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[14] JaJuan Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jajuan-johnson.htm

[15] > Fast Break: Celtics hold on to beat Raptors" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/18/fast-break-celtics-hold-on-to-beat-raptors/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.