- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA Offseason Review: Pacific Division

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On December 19, 2011 @ 9:02 pm In General | 5 Comments

Given the drama (and comedy) that was the NBA lockout, the ensuing free agency frenzy and the vetoed trade by a commissioner of a group of owners who was acting as the general manager of an individual team that is owned by that same group of owners, it’s easy to get confused about who landed where. This is the first of six daily division-by-division reviews leading up to opening day.

[1]LOS ANGELES CLIPPERS [2]

2010-11 record: 32-50
2010-11 standing: 4th in Pacific Division
NBA draft picks: 37. Trey Thompkins; 47. Travis Leslie
Key additions: Chris Paul [3] (trade); Caron Butler (free agent); Chauncey Billups [4] (amnesty)
Key substractions: Eric Gordon [5] (trade); Al-Farouq Aminu (trade); Chris Kaman [6] (trade); Baron Davis [7] (amnesty)
2011-12 starters: PG Chris Paul; SG Chauncey Billups; SF Caron Butler; PF Blake Griffin [8]; C DeAndre Jordan
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 31.5 (Dec. 9)
2011-12 prediction: 44-22

GOLDEN STATE WARRIORS [1]

2010-11 record: 36-46
2010-11 standing: 3rd in Pacific Division
NBA draft picks: 11. Klay Thompson; 39. Jeremy Tyler; 44. Charles Jenkins
Key additions: Kwame Brown [9] (free agent); Brandon Rush (trade); Dominic McGuire (waiver)
Key substractions: Reggie Williams (free agent); Al Thornton (free agent); Vladimir Radmanovic (free agent)
2011-12 starters: PG Stephen Curry; SG Monta Ellis [10]; SF Dorell Wright [11]; PF David Lee [12]; C Andris Birdies
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 29.5
2011-12 prediction: 33-33

PHOENIX SUNS [13]

2010-11 record: 40-42
2010-11 standing: 2nd in Pacific Division
NBA draft picks: 13. Markieff Morris
Key additions: Shannon Brown [14] (free agent); Ronnie Price (free agent); Sebastian Telfair [15] (free agent)
Key substractions: Vince Carter [16] (amnesty)
2011-12 starters: PG Steve Nash [17]; SG Josh Childress [18]; SF Grant Hill [19]; PF Channing Frye [20]; C Marcin Gortat
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 31.5
2011-12 prediction: 31-35

SACRAMENTO KINGS [21]

2010-11 record: 24-58
2010-11 standing: 5th in Pacific Division
NBA draft picks: 10. Jimmer Fredette [22]; 35. Tyler Honeycutt; 60. Isaiah Thomas [23]
Key additions: John Salmons [24] (trade); J.J. Hickson (trade); Travis Outlaw [25] (amnesty)
Key substractions: Samuel Dalembert (free agent); Beno Udrih (trade); Omri Casspi (trade)
2011-12 starters: PG Jimmer Fredette; SG Tyreke Evans [26]; SF John Salmons; PF JJ Hickson; C DeMarcus Cousins [27]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 17.5
2011-12 prediction: 17-49

[21]LOS ANGELES LAKERS [28]

2010-11 record: 57-25
2010-11 standing: Won Pacific Division; lost Western Conference semis to Mavericks, 4-0
NBA draft picks: 41. Darius Morris; 46. Andrew Goudelock; 58. Ater Majok
Key additions: Josh McRoberts (free agent); Troy Murphy [29] (free agent); Jason Kapono (free agent)
Key substractions: Lamar Odom (trade); Shannon Brown (free agent)
2011-12 starters: PG Derek Fisher; SG Kobe Bryant [30]; SF Metta World Peace; PF Pau Gasol [31]; C Andrew Bynum [32]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 48.5
2011-12 prediction: 40-26


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/19/nba-offseason-review-pacific-division/

URLs in this post:

[1] : http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-up.jpg

[2] LOS ANGELES CLIPPERS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-clippers.htm

[3] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[4] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[5] Eric Gordon: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eric-gordon.htm

[6] Chris Kaman: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-kaman.htm

[7] Baron Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/baron-davis.htm

[8] Blake Griffin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/blake-griffin.htm

[9] Kwame Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kwame-brown.htm

[10] Monta Ellis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/monta-ellis.htm

[11] Dorell Wright: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dorell-wright.htm

[12] David Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee.htm

[13] PHOENIX SUNS: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-sideways.jpg

[14] Shannon Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shannon-brown.htm

[15] Sebastian Telfair: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sebastian-telfair.htm

[16] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[17] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[18] Josh Childress: http://media.weei.com/basketball/josh-childress.htm

[19] Grant Hill: http://media.weei.com/basketball/grant-hill.htm

[20] Channing Frye: http://media.weei.com/basketball/channing-frye.htm

[21] SACRAMENTO KINGS: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-down.jpg

[22] Jimmer Fredette: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jimmer-fredette.htm

[23] Isaiah Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/isaiah-thomas.htm

[24] John Salmons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-salmons.htm

[25] Travis Outlaw: http://media.weei.com/basketball/travis-outlaw.htm

[26] Tyreke Evans: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyreke-evans.htm

[27] DeMarcus Cousins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/demarcus-cousins.htm

[28] LOS ANGELES LAKERS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[29] Troy Murphy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/troy-murphy.htm

[30] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[31] Pau Gasol: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[32] Andrew Bynum: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bynum.htm

[33] > NBA Offseason Review: Pacific Division" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/19/nba-offseason-review-pacific-division/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[34]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.