- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA Offseason Review: Northwest Division

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On December 20, 2011 @ 7:43 pm In General | No Comments

Given the drama (and comedy) that was the NBA lockout, the ensuing free agency frenzy and the vetoed trade by a commissioner of a group of owners who was acting as the general manager of an individual team that is owned by that same group of owners, it’s easy to get confused about who landed where. This is the second of six daily division-by-division reviews leading up to opening day.

NBA Offseason Review: Pacific Division [1]

[2]MINNESOTA TIMBERWOLVES [3]

2010-11 record: 17-65
2010-11 standing: 5th in Northwest Division
NBA draft picks: 2. Derrick Williams [4]; 43. Malcolm Lee
Key additions: Ricky Rubio [5] (Spain); J.J. Barea (free agent); Brad Miller [6] (trade)
Key substractions: Jonny Flynn (trade); Lazar Hayward (trade)
2011-12 starters: PG Ricky Rubio; SG Wesley Johnson; SF Michael Beasley; PF Kevin Love [7]; C Darko Milicic [8]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 15.5
2011-12 prediction: 21-45

PORTLAND TRAIL BLAZERS

2010-11 record: 48-34
2010-11 standing: 3rd in Northwest Division; lost Western Conference first round, 4-2
NBA draft picks: 21. Nolan Smith; 51. Jon Diebler; 57. Tanguy Ngombo
Key additions: Jamal Crawford [9] (free agent) Raymond Felton [10] (trade); Kurt Thomas [11] (free agent)
Key substractions: Andre Miller [12] (trade); Brandon Roy [13] (retired); Patrick Mills (free agent)
2011-12 starters: PG Felton; SG Wesley Matthews; SF Gerald Wallace [14]; PF LaMarcus Aldridge; C Marcus Camby [15]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 41.5
2011-12 prediction: 39-27

OKLAHOMA CITY THUNDER [16]

2010-11 record: 55-27
2010-11 standing: Won Northwest Division; lost Western Conference finals to Mavericks, 4-1
NBA draft picks: 24. Reggie Jackson [17]
Key additions: Lazar Hayward (trade)
Key substractions: B.J. Mullens (trade)
2011-12 starters: PG Russell Westbrook [18]; SG Thabo Sefolosha; SF Kevin Durant [19]; PF Serge Ibaka; C Perk
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 44.5
2011-12 prediction: 50-16

DENVER NUGGETS [20]

2010-11 record: 50-32
2010-11 standing: 2th in Northwest Division; lost Western Conference first round to Thunder, 4-1
NBA draft picks: 22. Kenneth Faried; 26. Jordan Hamilton; 56. Chukwudiebere Maduabum
Key additions: Andre Miller (trade); Corey Brewer [21] (trade); Rudy Fernandez (trade)
Key substractions: Raymond Felton (trade); Kenyon Martin [22] (free agent); J.R. Smith (FA); Wilson Chandler [23] (FA)
2011-12 starters: PG Ty Lawson [24]; SG Rudy Fernandez; SF Danilo Gallinari; PF Al Harrington [25]; C Chris Andersen
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 38.5
2011-12 prediction: 35-31

[20]UTAH JAZZ [26]

2010-11 record: 39-43
2010-11 standing: 4th in Northwest Division
NBA draft picks: 3. Enes Kanter; 12. Alec Burks
Key additions: Jamaal Tinsley (free agent)
Key substractions: Andrei Kirilenko (free agent); Ronnie Price (free agent)
2011-12 starters: PG Devin Harris; SG Raja Bell [27]; SF C.J. Miles; PF Paul Millsap; C Al Jefferson [28]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 31.5
2011-12 prediction: 24-42


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/20/nba-offseason-review-northwest-division/

URLs in this post:

[1] Pacific Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/19/nba-offseason-review-pacific-division/

[2] : http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-up.jpg

[3] MINNESOTA TIMBERWOLVES: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[4] Derrick Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-williams.htm

[5] Ricky Rubio: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ricky-rubio.htm

[6] Brad Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brad-miller-bulls.htm

[7] Kevin Love: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-love.htm

[8] Darko Milicic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/darko-milicic.htm

[9] Jamal Crawford: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jamal-crawford.htm

[10] Raymond Felton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/raymond-felton.htm

[11] Kurt Thomas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kurt-thomas.htm

[12] Andre Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-miller.htm

[13] Brandon Roy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-roy.htm

[14] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[15] Marcus Camby: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marcus-camby.htm

[16] OKLAHOMA CITY THUNDER: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-sideways.jpg

[17] Reggie Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-jackson-boston-college.htm

[18] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[19] Kevin Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[20] DENVER NUGGETS: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-down.jpg

[21] Corey Brewer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/corey-brewer.htm

[22] Kenyon Martin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kenyon-martin.htm

[23] Wilson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/wilson-chandler.htm

[24] Ty Lawson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ty-lawson.htm

[25] Al Harrington: http://media.weei.com/basketball/al-harrington.htm

[26] UTAH JAZZ: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[27] Raja Bell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/raja-bell.htm

[28] Al Jefferson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/al-jefferson.htm

[29] > NBA Offseason Review: Northwest Division" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/20/nba-offseason-review-northwest-division/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[30]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.