- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Ian Thomsen on M&M: Expect more Rajon Rondo trade rumors

Posted By Jerry Spar On December 22, 2011 @ 2:04 pm In General | 2 Comments

Sports Illustrated NBA writer Ian Thomsen joined Mut & Merloni Thursday to talk about the Celtics [1], who open the season in New York on Christmas Day.

Thomsen said the early part of the NBA season likely will be tough to watch, following a shortened preseason.

“It will be a lot like April baseball when it’s freezing cold and no one really wants to be out there, including the fans,” Thomsen said. “And then, how many empty seats are we going to see? All the fans that didn’t renew their season tickets, not knowing what the NBA was going to be, if they were going to have a season, not knowing if they wanted to support the team even if they did come back.

“It’s going to be a lot of interesting things to watch for, and almost none of them are positive over the first month, I would say. By the end of the year, I would think the NBA’s hoping everybody forgets all about all of this. Right now, it’s just really interesting to see how it plays out.”

However, Thomsen said he can’t fault the owners for pushing to start the season on Christmas.

“I think this was the right thing to do,” he said. “People are complaining about it, for sure. ‘€¦ This was all part of trying to save as much of the season as they could. To me, the greater good was served by that.”

Following are more highlights from the conversation. To hear the interview, go to the Mut & Merloni audio on demand page.

On the Celtics’ near acquisition of David West and why West chose instead to go the Pacers: “They thought they were going to get him. And it would have been a huge get. Now, would he have been lost a little bit here? What was his role going to be alongside Garnett? The talk was Kevin Garnett [2] would shift over to center and then David West would be the power forward. But everyone knows that Kevin doesn’t like to play around the basket. And even now, when Doc [Rivers] says he wants Kevin to be more of a scorer, he’s not saying he has to go inside.

“Maybe from David West’s point of view, where was he going to play? Because this was Kevin Garnett’s team. David West isn’t going to come in and take over for Kevin Garnett this year. So, what were their roles going to be? They sort of play on the same areas on the floor. Maybe that was a big part of it. Whereas if he goes to Indiana, he can take a team that’s on the rise, make them better. They barely made the playoffs last year. They should be much better this year. They have a great coaching staff. It’s not the Celtics. It’s not nearly as close as that. But maybe he can establish himself again coming off knee surgery. After his two-year deal’s up, he can go get another big contract. But they thought they had him, for sure.”

On Rajon Rondo [3] trade rumors: “At times there may be complaints from Danny Ainge that he’s not generating it. But I think he wouldn’t be doing his job if he wasn’t generating it. He should be generating it. He should be trying to figure out what can be done to make the team better. And really, the only thing he has going for him right now is cap space, the chance to play with Paul Pierce [4], who isn’t going to be traded, and then the ability to trade Rondo. What else does he have? What other assets does he have? So, I think we’re going to be hearing more of it. There’s just no way around it.”

On the C’s improved depth: “It’s really not a bad bench. It compares pretty well to the other second units they’ve had. And if Jeff Green [5] was there, it would be even better. It’s not a bunch of old guys. Keyon Dooling [6], Chris Wilcox [7], Marquis [Daniels], Brandon Bass [8], Avery Bradley [9], E’Twaun Moore [10], who looks like he’s going to be able to play a little bit — all these guys, they can come in and do some things to help them.

“What they don’t have is size. It’s the weakest group of big men they’ve had since they brought in Garnett and Ray Allen [11] to go with Pierce. Jermaine O’Neal [12] has a long history of not being able to stay healthy. And Chris Wilcox is an athletic big man but doesn’t have the low-post skills you’d like to have coming off the bench. That might be an issue. Brandon Bass is height deficient like Big Baby [Glen Davis [13]] was. That’s really going to be a problem for them. Really, the bench is OK. The problem is the age of the players that are going to define the team.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/22/ian-thomsen-on-mm-expect-more-rajon-rondo-trade-rumors/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[7] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[8] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[9] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[10] E’Twaun Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/etwaun-moore.htm

[11] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[12] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[13] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[14] > Ian Thomsen on M&M: Expect more Rajon Rondo trade rumors" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/22/ian-thomsen-on-mm-expect-more-rajon-rondo-trade-rumors/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.