- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA Offseason Review: Southeast Division

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On December 22, 2011 @ 5:23 pm In General | No Comments

Given the drama (and comedy) that was the NBA lockout, the ensuing free agency frenzy and the vetoed trade by a commissioner of a group of owners who was acting as the general manager of an individual team that is owned by that same group of owners, it’s easy to get confused about who landed where. This is the fourth of six daily division-by-division reviews leading up to opening day.

NBA Offseason Review: Pacific Division [1]
NBA Offseason Review: Northwest Division [2]
NBA Offseason Review: Southwest Division [3]

MIAMI HEAT [4]

2010-11 record: 58-24
2010-11 standing: Won Southeast Division; lost NBA Finals [5] to Mavericks, 4-2
NBA draft picks: 28. Norris Cole
Key additions: Shane Battier [6] (free agent); Eddy Curry [7] (free agent)
Key substractions: Mike Bibby [8] (free agent); Zydrunas Ilgauskas [9] (retired)
2011-12 starters: PG Mario Chalmers [10]; SG Dwyane Wade [11]; SF LeBron James [12]; PF Chris Bosh; C Joel Anthony [13]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 49.5
2011-12 prediction: 51-15

WASHINGTON WIZARDS [14]

2010-11 record: 23-59
2010-11 standing: 5th in Southeast Division
NBA draft picks: 6. Jan Vesely; 18. Chris Singleton [15]; 34. Shelvin Mack
Key additions: Ronny Turiaf (trade)
Key substractions:Josh Howard [16] (free agent); Yi Jianlian (FA)
2011-12 starters: PG John Wall [17]; SG Nick Young [18]; SF Rashard Lewis; PF Andray Blatche [19]; C JaVale McGee
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 19.5
2011-12 prediction: 21-45

ORLANDO MAGIC [20]

2010-11 record: 52-30
2010-11 standing: 2nd in Southeast Division; lost Eastern Conference first round to Hawks [21], 4-2
NBA draft picks: 32. Justin Harper; 53. DeAndre Liggins
Key additions: Glen Davis [22] (trade); Von Wafer [23] (trade)
Key substractions: Brandon Bass [24] (trade); Gilbert Arenas [25] (amnesty)
2011-12 starters: PG Jameer Nelson; SG Jason Richardson [26]; SF Hedo Turkoglu [27]; PF Davis; C Dwight Howard [28]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 41.5
2011-12 prediction:37-29

ATLANTA HAWKS [20]

2010-11 record: 44-38
2010-11 standing: 3rd in Southeast Division; lost Eastern Conference semis to Bulls, 4-2
NBA draft picks: 48. Keith Benson
Key additions: Tracy McGrady [29] (free agent); Vladimir Radmanivic (FA); Jerry Stackhouse (FA); Magnum Rolle (FA)
Key substractions: Jamal Crawford [30] (free agent); Josh Powell (China);
2011-12 starters: PG Jeff Teague [31]; SG Joe Johnson [32]; SF Marvin Williams [33]; PF Joe Smith; C Al Horford
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 35.5
2011-12 prediction: 33-33

[20]CHARLOTTE BOBCATS [34]

2010-11 record: 34-48
2010-11 standing: 4th in Southeast Division
NBA draft picks: 7. Bismack Biyombo; 9. Kemba Walker
Key additions: Corey Maggette [35] (trade); B.J. Mullens (trade)
Key substractions: Stephen Jackson [36] (trade); Kwame Brown [37] (free agent); Shaun Livingston (trade)
2011-12 starters: PG D.J. Augustin; SG Gerald Henderson [38]; SF Maggette; PF Boris Diaw [39]; C DeSagana Diop
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 28.5
2011-12 prediction: 14-52


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/22/nba-offseason-review-southeast-division/

URLs in this post:

[1] Pacific Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/19/nba-offseason-review-pacific-division/

[2] Northwest Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/20/nba-offseason-review-northwest-division/

[3] Southwest Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/21/nba-offseason-review-southwest-division/

[4] MIAMI HEAT: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-up.jpg

[5] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[6] Shane Battier: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shane-battier.htm

[7] Eddy Curry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddy-curry.htm

[8] Mike Bibby: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mike-bibby.htm

[9] Zydrunas Ilgauskas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/zydrunas-ilgauskas.htm

[10] Mario Chalmers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mario-chalmers.htm

[11] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[12] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[13] Joel Anthony: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joel-anthony.htm

[14] WASHINGTON WIZARDS: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-sideways.jpg

[15] Chris Singleton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-singleton.htm

[16] Josh Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/josh-howard.htm

[17] John Wall: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-wall.htm

[18] Nick Young: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nick-young.htm

[19] Andray Blatche: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andray-blatche.htm

[20] ORLANDO MAGIC: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-down.jpg

[21] Hawks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joe-johnson-hawks.htm

[22] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[23] Von Wafer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/von-wafer.htm

[24] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[25] Gilbert Arenas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gilbert-arenas.htm

[26] Jason Richardson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-richardson.htm

[27] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[28] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[29] Tracy McGrady: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tracy-mcgrady.htm

[30] Jamal Crawford: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jamal-crawford.htm

[31] Jeff Teague: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-teague.htm

[32] Joe Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joe-johnson.htm

[33] Marvin Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marvin-williams.htm

[34] CHARLOTTE BOBCATS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[35] Corey Maggette: http://media.weei.com/basketball/corey-maggette.htm

[36] Stephen Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephen-jackson.htm

[37] Kwame Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kwame-brown.htm

[38] Gerald Henderson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-henderson.htm

[39] Boris Diaw: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boris-diaw.htm

[40] > NBA Offseason Review: Southeast Division" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/22/nba-offseason-review-southeast-division/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[41]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.