- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA Offseason Review: Atlantic Division

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On December 24, 2011 @ 10:00 am In General | 1 Comment

Given the drama (and comedy) that was the NBA lockout, the ensuing free agency frenzy and the vetoed trade by a commissioner of a group of owners who was acting as the general manager of an individual team that is owned by that same group of owners, it’s easy to get confused about who landed where. This is the fifth of six daily division-by-division reviews leading up to opening day.

NBA Offseason Review: Pacific Division [1]
NBA Offseason Review: Northwest Division [2]
NBA Offseason Review: Southwest Division [3]
NBA Offseason Review: Southeast Division [4]
NBA Offseason Review: Central Division [5]

[6]NEW YORK KNICKS [7]

2010-11 record: 42-40
2010-11 standing: 2nd in Atlantic Division; lost Eastern Conference first round to Celtics, 4-0
NBA draft picks: 17. Iman Shumpert; 45. Josh Harrellson
Key additions: Tyson Chandler [8] (free agent); Baron Davis [9] (amnesty); Mike Bibby [10] (FA)
Key substractions: Chauncey Billups [11] (amnesty); Shawne Williams [12] (free agent); Ronny Turiaf (FA)
2011-12 starters: PG Toney Douglas [13]; SG Landry Fields; SF Melo Anthony; PF Amare Stoudemire; C Chandler
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 39.5
2011-12 prediction: 40-26

NEW JERSEY NETS [6]

2010-11 record: 24-58
2010-11 standing: 4th in Atlantic Division
NBA draft picks: 25. Marshon Brooks; 31. Bojan Bogdanovic; 36. Jordan Williams
Key additions: Shawne Williams (free agent); Shelden Williams [14] (FA)
Key substractions: Sasha Vujacic (free agent); Travis Outlaw [15] (amnesty)
2011-12 starters: PG Deron Williams; SG Tony Morrow; SF Damion James; PF Kris Humphries; C Brook Lopez [16]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 21.5
2011-12 prediction: 25-41

PHILADELPHIA 76ERS [17]

2010-11 record: 41-41
2010-11 standing: 3rd in Atlantic Division
NBA draft picks: 16. Nikola Vucevic; 50. Lavoy Allen [18]
Key additions: None
Key substractions: None
2011-12 starters: PG Jrue Holiday; SG Jodie Meeks; SF Andre Iguadola; PF Elton Brand; C Spencer Hawes [19]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 30.5
2011-12 prediction: 34-32

BOSTON CELTICS [20]

2010-11 record: 56-26
2010-11 standing: Won Atlantic Division; lost Eastern Conference semis to Heat, 4-1
NBA draft picks: 27. JaJuan Johnson [21]; 55. E’Twuan Moore
Key additions: Brandon Bass [22] (trade); Keyon Dooling [23] (trade); Chris Wilcox [24] (free agent)
Key substractions: Jeff Green [25] (injury); Glen Davis [26] (trade); Shaquille O’Neal [27] (retired); Nenad Krstic [28] (Russia)
2011-12 starters: PG Rajon Rondo [29]; SG Ray Allen [30]; SF Paul Pierce [31]; PF Kevin Garnett [32]; C Jermaine O’Neal [33]
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 41.5
2011-12 prediction: 41-25

[20]TORONTO RAPTORS [34]

2010-11 record: 22-60
2010-11 standing: 5th in Atlantic Division
NBA draft picks: 5. Jonas Valanciunas
Key additions: Aaron Gray (free agent); Jamaal Magloire (FA); Rasual Butler (FA)
Key substractions: Sonny Weems (free agent); Reggie Evans [35] (FA)
2011-12 starters: PG Jose Calderon; SG DeMar DeRozan; SF James Johnson; PF Andrea Bargnani; C Amir Johnson
2011-12 wins over/under (sportsbook.com): 16.5
2011-12 prediction: 13-53


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/24/nba-offseason-review-atlantic-division/

URLs in this post:

[1] Pacific Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/19/nba-offseason-review-pacific-division/

[2] Northwest Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/20/nba-offseason-review-northwest-division/

[3] Southwest Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/21/nba-offseason-review-southwest-division/

[4] Southeast Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/22/nba-offseason-review-southeast-division

[5] Central Division: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/22/nba-offseason-review-central-division

[6] : http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-up.jpg

[7] NEW YORK KNICKS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-york-knicks.htm

[8] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[9] Baron Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/baron-davis.htm

[10] Mike Bibby: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mike-bibby.htm

[11] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[12] Shawne Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shawne-williams.htm

[13] Toney Douglas: http://media.weei.com/basketball/toney-douglas.htm

[14] Shelden Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shelden-williams.htm

[15] Travis Outlaw: http://media.weei.com/basketball/travis-outlaw.htm

[16] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[17] PHILADELPHIA 76ERS: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-sideways.jpg

[18] Lavoy Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lavoy-allen.htm

[19] Spencer Hawes: http://media.weei.com/basketball/spencer-hawes.htm

[20] BOSTON CELTICS: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/thumbs-down.jpg

[21] JaJuan Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jajuan-johnson.htm

[22] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[23] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[24] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[25] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[26] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[27] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[28] Nenad Krstic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nenad-krstic.htm

[29] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[30] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[31] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[32] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[33] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[34] TORONTO RAPTORS: http://media.weei.com/basketball/toronto-raptors.htm

[35] Reggie Evans: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-evans.htm

[36] > NBA Offseason Review: Atlantic Division" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2011/12/24/nba-offseason-review-atlantic-division/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[37]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.