- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Big Baby: ‘The only thing I know is that I got paid a little bit more money’

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On January 24, 2012 @ 1:14 am In General | No Comments

There’s one important difference between Glen Davis [1] and Kendrick Perkins [2]: Big Baby left on his own terms.

Davis didn’t profess his love for Boston in his postgame press conference the way Perk did [3]. He wanted a change in scenery and an upgraded role, and Orlando offered that opportunity. Or so he thought.

“I’€™m in the same situation I was here — coming off the bench,” said a dejected Davis after losing to his former team, 87-56. “The only thing I know is that I got paid a little bit more money. Like I said, it’€™s a process and a system that I’€™ve got to get used to. I don’€™t know. I know what I’€™m supposed to do, but I don’€™t know yet. I’€™m still searching.”

As they did for fellow members of the 2007-08 NBA championship team Eddie House [4] and Perkins before him, the Celtics [5] gave Big Baby the video montage treatment [6]. When the Garden crowd responded with a standing ovation, Davis flashed his signature smile and acknowledged the fans with a wave before returning to the Magic bench.

“It was good to remember all the memories that you had,” he said. “I looked really big, like really fat. I was like, ‘Wow, chubby.’ I look a little more leander now. But it was good. It’s always good to see things like that, memories I can never forget. The fans showed love, and I appreciate that.”

Asked what Davis brings to the Magic, Dwight Howard [7] said, “Food. Drinks. By the time he brings the food, there’s no food left. He usually eats it before he brings it to the table.”

On a serious note, Howard added, “Glen has been great in the locker room. I can tell he’s learned a lot from [Kevin Garnett [8]] and those guys. … He’s been great in the locker room, on the floor. It’s good to have a guy like that.”

In 24 minutes off the bench, Davis grabbed 11 rebounds but committed four turnovers and finished with just six points (2-9 FG). His numbers are down from the 11.7 points and 5.5 boards he averaged with the C’s last season.

“I went for everything — different role, more money,” he said of his move to Orlando. “I’m 1-for-2.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/01/24/big-baby-the-only-thing-i-know-is-that-i-got-paid-a-little-bit-more-money/

URLs in this post:

[1] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[2] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[3] the way Perk did: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/01/17/kendrick-perkins-im-just-really-glad-its-over/

[4] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] the video montage treatment: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/01/23/celtics-montage-thank-you-big-baby-glen-davis/

[7] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] > Big Baby: ‘The only thing I know is that I got paid a little bit more money’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/01/24/big-baby-the-only-thing-i-know-is-that-i-got-paid-a-little-bit-more-money/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.