- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Trade Rumor: Clippers interested in Ray Allen

Posted By Paul Flannery On March 5, 2012 @ 10:03 am In General | 10 Comments

The Clippers have been looking for backcourt help ever since Chauncey Billups [1] went down with a season-ending Achilles injury, and they have their eye on Celtics [2]‘ guard Ray Allen [3], according to Sports Illustrated’s Sam Amick [4]. However, as Amick points out:

“The price is likely too high, as Boston wants a package that includes a young talent and a draft pick.”

The best young player the Clippers have — besides Blake Griffin [5] and DeAndre Jordan, let’s be serious, folks — is second-year guard Eric Bledsoe, and he’s out with a knee injury. The Clips also don’t have a draft pick to offer because it already belongs to the Celtics, who acquired it in the Kendrick Perkins [6] trade.

There doesn’t appear to be a match here, but expect more chatter to follow Allen who is in the final year of a deal that pays him $10 million. His overall game has fallen off a bit, but Allen remains one of the best shooters in the league.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/05/trade-rumor-clippers-interested-in-ray-allen/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] according to Sports Illustrated’s Sam Amick: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/writers/sam_amick/03/03/nba.notebook/index.html

[5] Blake Griffin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/blake-griffin.htm

[6] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[7] > Trade Rumor: Clippers interested in Ray Allen" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/05/trade-rumor-clippers-interested-in-ray-allen/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.