- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Trade deadline: C’s may benefit from Warriors move

Posted By Paul Flannery On March 14, 2012 @ 12:56 pm In General | 3 Comments

SAN FRANCISCO — The Celtics [1] may or may not make a deal before Thursday’s trade deadline, but they have already benefited from the process. While they were en route to the Bay Area, the Warriors pulled off a five-player trade that cost them Monta Ellis [2], Kwame Brown [3] and Ekpe Udoh to Mliwaukee for Andrew Bogut [4] and Stephen Jackson [5].

The move subtracts Golden State’s leading scorer in Ellis and a plus-minus monster in Udoh. It didn’t stop the Warriors from hammering the Kings by 26 points on Tuesday night but with Ellis gone and Steph Curry out with a sprained ankle, they started old friend Nate Robinson [6] and rookie Klay Thompson in the backcourt. Golden State [7] also started David Lee [8] and Andris Biedrinis, but without Udoh their frontcourt depth is even thinner than the Celtics.

Bogut is out with a sprained ankle, but when healthy he could become the kind of interior defensive presence the Warriors have sought for years. As SI’s Zach Lowe points out [9], they made a run at Tyson Chandler [10] and DeAndre Jordan this past offseason before settling on Brown. Jackson is a complete wild card in more ways that one, but regardless, neither player should be on the floor for Golden State on Wednesday. (In a nice twist, the Bucks visit Golden State on Friday).

The move impacts the Celtics in another way as they will be in Milwaukee on Thursday. The Bucks have moved into a tie with the Knicks for the 8th playoff spot in the East and it will be interesting to see how the Brandon Jennings [11]-Ellis backcourt meshes.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/14/trade-deadline-cs-may-benefit-from-warriors-move/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Monta Ellis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/monta-ellis.htm

[3] Kwame Brown: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kwame-brown.htm

[4] Andrew Bogut: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andrew-bogut.htm

[5] Stephen Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephen-jackson.htm

[6] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[7] Golden State: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee-gators.htm

[8] David Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee.htm

[9] As SI’s Zach Lowe points out: http://nba-point-forward.si.com/2012/03/14/warriors-pay-painful-price-to-get-bogut/#more-16124

[10] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[11] Brandon Jennings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-jennings.htm

[12] > Trade deadline: C’s may benefit from Warriors move" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/14/trade-deadline-cs-may-benefit-from-warriors-move/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.