- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Brandon Bass is starting to get what it means to be a Celtic

Posted By Paul Flannery On March 15, 2012 @ 10:48 pm In General | No Comments

OAKLAND — Forward Brandon Bass [1] has been remarkably consistent for the Celtics [2] this season. He averaged 11 points and six rebounds a game in January and February and even after moving into the starting lineup full-time just before the All-Star break, his minutes, shots, points and rebounds haven’t changed all that much.

Beneath that game in and game out consistency has been enormous growth, especially on the defensive end. More than that, Bass is truly coming to understand what it means to play for the Celtics, and play alongside Kevin Garnett [3].

“If you’€™re a big and you play on the same team as Kevin Garnett, you’€™re going to be a better defensive player,” coach Doc Rivers [4] said after the Celtics beat Golden State. “He’€™s just going to talk you into it. He had one earlier in the game where he missed a rotation and you could see Kevin: He tells you. You may not like the way he delivers the message, but I think where Brandon has grown, he’€™s gotten over the MFs and [understanding] what he’€™s saying is really important.”

Bass acknowledged that it’s been a bit of a culture shock coming to Boston and yes, there are times when Garnett’s constant NSFW barking gets on his nerves. But he’s learned that he can also dish it right back and that’s OK.

“You know what? Man. I have problems with Paul Pierce [5] and Kevin Garnett because they throw a lot of words out there and sometimes I want to throw them back,” Bass said with a bit of a grin. “At the end of the day I know they want to win. And at the end of the day I want to win. So if I throw it back, they don’€™t mind. It’€™s life. That’€™s also what’€™s made us closer. You can’€™t be close when everybody’€™s just being nice. Hey man, how you doing? You got to fight a little bit. Argue a little bit. That will make us closer and I think that will make us fight for each other on the court.”

The Celtics have won eight of their last 10 games and while the only constant thing has been change, they are finally starting to get into a groove since Bass replaced Jermaine O’Neal [6] in the starting lineup. With a regular starting five and a bench rotation of Avery Bradley [7], Mickael Pietrus [8], Greg Stiemsma [9] and Keyon Dooling [10] the Celtics are finally approaching normalcy.

It’s also worth noting that while the core four All-Stars have remained intact, that nine-man rotation is entirely new except for Bradley who is getting the first consistent minutes of his short career.

“We had a bunch of new guys, especially myself,” Bass said. “Everybody was on me about this, about that. I’€™m finally getting it. I knew it was going to take some time. I guess all the guys knew it was going to take some time as well. We’€™re jelling and I just hope we can continue to do that.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/15/brandon-bass-is-starting-to-get-what-it-means-to-be-a-celtic/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Jermaine O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jermaine-oneal.htm

[7] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[8] Mickael Pietrus: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mickael-pietrus.htm

[9] Greg Stiemsma: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-stiemsma.htm

[10] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[11] > Brandon Bass is starting to get what it means to be a Celtic" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/15/brandon-bass-is-starting-to-get-what-it-means-to-be-a-celtic/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.