- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett: ‘I don’t make a lot of friends’

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On March 26, 2012 @ 12:40 am In General | 12 Comments

What we knew: Ryan Hollins [1] came highly recommended to Celtics [2] president Danny Ainge from none other than Kevin Garnett [3] and Paul Pierce [4] after the three of them played together in the Los Angeles area over the summer.

What we didn’€™t know: Hollins and Garnett became fast friends.

‘€œI don’€™t make a lot of friends, but I can say I made one in him,’€ said KG. ‘€œI like the way the kid approaches the game. He wants to be more than good. You see it in his face. You see it in his work ethic. I’€™m a big fan of his, so I’€™m glad he’€™s here. Like any of the other guys, whatever he wants to know, I’€™m here for him. So, I’€™m happy he’€™s a C.’€

It might take a while before Hollins becomes ‘€œmore than good,’€ considering the 7-footer has totaled three points and one rebound in his two appearances for the Celtics — understandably appearing lost in the team’€™s sets on both ends of the floor.

One encouraging sign: After running into Keyon Dooling [5] on a botched pick and roll, Hollins approached head coach Doc Rivers [6], asking what he did wrong on the play.

Hollins plays with an encouraging energy, attempting to mimic Garnett’€™s approach.

‘€œI told him to be careful about my intensity,’€ said KG. ‘€œIt’€™ll get him kicked out of the league.’€

After all, Hollins earned a technical foul 20 seconds into his Celtics debut against the 76ers on Friday night (along with a fine, according to KG) and a personal foul 10 seconds into Sunday night’€™s 88-76 loss to the Wizards.

‘€œYou might want to be careful with that, you know?’€ added Garnett. ‘€œThis intensity comes with a sense of meditation and a sense of under control, but I love his intensity. The kid plays really, really hard.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/26/kevin-garnett-i-dont-make-a-lot-of-friends/

URLs in this post:

[1] Ryan Hollins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ryan-hollins.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[6] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] > Kevin Garnett: ‘I don’t make a lot of friends’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/03/26/kevin-garnett-i-dont-make-a-lot-of-friends/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.