- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Sean Williams gives a glimpse of the ‘competitor’ he can be

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 25, 2012 @ 8:24 am In General | No Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

Sean Williams [1] was regarded as one of the best shot-blocking talents coming out of college when he declared for the 2007 NBA draft out of Boston College [2].

Tuesday, with no Kevin Garnett [3] and Greg Stiemsma [4], the Celtics [5] had to look somewhere for bench help to support Ryan Hollins [6], and it was the newly-acquired Williams who got the look-see.

In nearly 20 minutes, he scored five points, hauled down two rebounds, had two assists and yes, blocked two shots in Boston’s 78-66 ugly duckling win over the Heat at the Garden.

‘€œIt was OK,” Celtics coach Doc Rivers [7] said of Williams Tuesday. “He’€™s a shot blocker, doesn’€™t know a lot of our stuff. You know he was pressing early; him and Ryan they were pressing way too much early on. And I thought as they settled in, one thing I did like about Sean down the stretch: he’€™s competitive. And you can see that. He wasn’€™t going to back down to anything, got some great blocked shots, so that was good to see.’€

So, back in Boston, Williams had the juices flowing in the first half, almost too much. Rivers could tell he was a bit nervous, and Williams didn’t deny that.

‘€œYes I was a little,” Williams said with a smile. ‘€œYou go out there your first time you get tired real fast, your legs get down on you real quick, everything kind of shuts down on you so I caught my second wind I guess in the second half.’€

Technically, Williams is eligible for Boston’s playoff roster since he waived by Dallas before the March 23 NBA deadline for rosters. Could he help off the bench as a shot-blocking force if Stiemsma’s sore feet act up?

‘€œI’€™m just trying to come in here and help these guys reach their goals, getting that 18th ring, that’€™s all I’€™m focused on,” Williams said. ‘€œI’€™ll let Doc decide that. Its not up to me. I just come here every day and try to get better at what I do.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/04/25/sean-williams-gives-a-glimpse-of-the-competitor-he-can-be/

URLs in this post:

[1] Sean Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sean-williams.htm

[2] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Greg Stiemsma: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-stiemsma.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Ryan Hollins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ryan-hollins.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] > Sean Williams gives a glimpse of the ‘competitor’ he can be" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/04/25/sean-williams-gives-a-glimpse-of-the-competitor-he-can-be/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.