- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers picks up another award

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 14, 2012 @ 6:36 pm In General | 2 Comments

The following should come as no surprise: Doc Rivers [1] is very media friendly.

On Monday, the Professional Basketball Writers Association recognized this formally by announcing the Celtics [2] head coach was voted the winner of the annual “Rudy Tomjanovich Award” – given to the head coach considered the most accessible to the media.

Rivers received 33 votes, topping a group that included Denver’€™s George Karl [3] (13), Orlando’€™s Stan Van Gundy [4] (9) and Dallas coach Rick Carlisle [5] (2).

The PBWA also handed out two other awards. Phoenix Suns [6] star point guard Steve Nash [7] was announced as the winner of “The Magic Johnson [8] Award” – the equivalent of Rivers’ award on the players’ side. The Milwaukee Bucks [9] media relations staff was given the “Brian McIntyre Award” as the league’€™s most enterprising and helpful public relations staff.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/14/doc-rivers-picks-up-another-award/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] George Karl: http://media.weei.com/basketball/george-karl.htm

[4] Stan Van Gundy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stan-van-gundy.htm

[5] Rick Carlisle: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rick-carlisle.htm

[6] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[7] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[8] Magic Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/magic-johnson.htm

[9] Milwaukee Bucks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/milwaukee-bucks.htm

[10] > Doc Rivers picks up another award" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/14/doc-rivers-picks-up-another-award/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.