- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Paul Pierce: Second-half meltdown ‘was really on us’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 19, 2012 @ 1:35 am In General | 4 Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

PHILADELPHIA — There will be those who say the Celtics [1] were taken out of their rhythm by the foul trouble that hit the Celtics late in the third quarter of Friday’s 92-83 loss to the Sixers in Game 4 of the Eastern Conference semifinal series.

Not Paul Pierce [2]. He’s been around long enough to know what really caused the Celtics to blow an 18-point third-quarter lead and fall back into a 2-2 tie in the series.

“Once they picked up their intensity, I didn’t think we really played with a sense of urgency in the third or fourth quarter,” Pierce said. “That’s a chance where you have a team on its back, you’re up 15 and you really take their confidence. We didn’t do that. You give a team some life, they went on a run and it just carried over all the way through the third and fourth quarter. That was really on us.”

Pierce wasn’t blaming the offense, which managed just 37 points in the second half.

“I really don’t blame it on offense,” Pierce said. “You look up defensively, you give up 28 and 30 points in the third and fourth quarters. Regardless if we score 15 or 20 points [in a quarter], our defense should be able to win the game. Our defense just didn’t come through. We didn’t rebound the ball, didn’t defend at a high level in the second half and allowed them to get in the game. We gave away too many free throws, easy opportunities, gave up the three, and then turned the ball over.”

“Of course, we have to expect that. Your back’s against the wall, you have to expect that. You’re down on your home court. You have to really expect them to come out and play their best. I said coming into the game, ‘expect their best.’ Obviously, it wasn’t their best first half. They came out in the second half and used the energy of the crowd and we just didn’t respond. Even though it was a tight game down the stretch, we had our opportunities but we gave up two late threes to [Andre Iguodala [3]] to seal it.”

Rajon Rondo [4], Brandon Bass [5] and Avery Bradley [6] all picked up their fourth fouls late in the third quarter but Pierce didn’t even mention that as a possible reason for falling apart.

“That’s part of the game,” Pierce said. “You have other guys to come in and step it up. You have to really put the knockout punch to a team and we just didn’t do that.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/19/paul-pierce-second-half-meltdown-was-really-on-us/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Andre Iguodala: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-iguodala.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[6] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[7] > Paul Pierce: Second-half meltdown ‘was really on us’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/19/paul-pierce-second-half-meltdown-was-really-on-us/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.