- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett on Game 7: ‘We’ve been here before’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 24, 2012 @ 1:06 am In General | 1 Comment


brightcove.createExperiences();

PHILADELPHIA — Kevin Garnett [1] spoke about Philadelphia’s fans after a Game 5 win in Boston. On Wednesday, following an 82-75 loss to the Sixers in Game 6, Garnett made another proclamation of sorts for Game 7 Saturday in Boston.

“Win or go home,” Garnett said when asked about the team’s mindset heading into a do-or-die Game 7 of the Eastern Conference semifinals. “Confidence is very high. We’ve been here before, very experienced. All out, nothing less.”

Indeed, the Celtics [2] have played in five Game 7s in the Big Three era of Garnett, Paul Pierce [3] and Ray Allen [4]. They are 3-2 in those previous five, beating Atlanta and Cleveland on their way to the title in 2008. They beat the Bulls in seven in the first round in 2009 before losing the next round to the Magic in Game 7 at the Garden. With a chance at an 18th banner in 2010, they lost Game 7 of the NBA finals [5] in Los Angeles to the Lakers.

“Game 7s are what they are,” coach Doc Rivers [6] said. “It’€™s nice we have it at home, but you have to go get it still. At the end of the day, you have to go play. You can’€™t just rely on that we’€™re at home. I do like that we have an extra day. I think that helps us a little bit.”

“It’s only a couple of us that have been in Game 7s, so we’re not going to go on the history,” Rajon Rondo [7] added. “This is a new series, a new group of guys that are going head to head and it’s been back and forth the entire series so it’s going to be a tough one at home.”

Neither team has managed consecutive victories in the series as the Celtics and Sixers have alternated wins in the first six games. If the trend continues, the Celtics will advance to the Eastern Conference finals for the third time in five years.

The Celtics will play the Sixers on Saturday at TD Garden. If the Pacers force a seventh game against the Heat with a Game 6 win Thursday, the Celtics and Sixers tip off at 5 p.m. on Saturday. If Miami advances on Thursday, then the Celtics tip off at 8 p.m. Saturday.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/24/kevin-garnett-on-game-7-weve-been-here-before/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] NBA finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[6] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] > Kevin Garnett on Game 7: ‘We’ve been here before’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/24/kevin-garnett-on-game-7-weve-been-here-before/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.