- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers calls his technical ‘worst I’ve ever had’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 29, 2012 @ 12:03 am In General | 38 Comments

Celtics [1] coach Doc Rivers [2] made his displeasure with his technical foul very clear following a Game 1 loss to the Heat at American Airlines Arena [3] in South Florida. Rivers was whistled for a technical foul by referee Ed Malloy with 3:13 left in the second quarter when he uttered the words, “Come on, Ed.”

“I know mine wasn’t [deserved],” Rivers said. “I don’t know how long I’ve been in the league, but that has to rank as the worst I’ve ever had. I would have liked to have earned it.”

Malloy called a technical foul on Rivers and then called one on Rajon Rondo [4] midway through the third after Rondo and Shane Battier [5] became entangled after a Brandon Bass [6] basket. Rondo appeared to push Battier away, trying to get loose. Earlier in the game, referee Danny Crawford called a tech on Ray Allen [7] after Allen was demonstrative after a call on him. Crawford then whistled Kevin Garnett [8] for a delay of game technical for tapping the ball out of bounds after a Celtics basket.

“We should never get them, I told our guys,” Rivers said, before adding, “Everybody has to keep their composure, not just just the players and coaches.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/29/doc-rivers-calls-his-technical-worst-ive-ever-had/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] American Airlines Arena: http://media.weei.com/basketball/american-airlines-arena.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Shane Battier: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shane-battier.htm

[6] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] > Doc Rivers calls his technical ‘worst I’ve ever had’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/29/doc-rivers-calls-his-technical-worst-ive-ever-had/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.