- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers: ‘LeBron James had 24 free throws, our team had 29′

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 31, 2012 @ 12:35 am In General | 9 Comments

Doc Rivers [1] attempted to hide his frustration with the discrepancy in the fouls Wednesday night as the Celtics [2] fell 115-111 in overtime to the Heat at American Airlines Arena [3]. The Celtics were whistled for 33 fouls while the Heat were called for just 18 in 53 minutes of action.

“It is what it is,” Rivers said. “LeBron James [4] took 24 free throws tonight and our team took 29. Paul Pierce [5] fouled out of a game where he was attacking the basket. It’s just tough. We have to just keep playing. I tell our guys, ‘It doesn’t matter. We can’t get distracted.’ We will not get distracted in this series. I guarantee you, right now, they’re distracted, our team in the locker room but we have to get out of us and move on. Whatever happened, happened. We just have to move on and play the next game.”

Two key plays will stand out to Celtics fans who feel they were robbed of the chance to win Game 2. Pierce was called for his sixth and final foul with 1:05 when Dwyane Wade [6] drove to the basket and turned his back into Pierce. Then, with the game tied, 105-105, and 1:35 left in overtime, replays show Rondo was raked across the face on a drive to the basket by Wade. There was no call as the Heat scored the next seven points to put the game on ice.

“It was obvious, but I really can’t comment about that play in particular. It’s part of the game. That was a big swing for us. I think we had the momentum. There was a lot of controversy out there, and it just didn’t go our way,” Rondo said afterward at the podium next to Ray Allen [7], who added, “We all thought he got hit, I’ll say it.”

Rivers joked with a reporter who was asking him to comment on the “50-50″ calls that seem to all go against the Celtics in Game 2.

“Can you call it something other than 50-50 calls? Can you come up with another percentage for me?” Rivers said with a smile. “We’re not going to blame [the officials]. We have to play better and we will.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/31/doc-rivers-lebron-james-had-24-free-throws-our-team-had-29/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] American Airlines Arena: http://media.weei.com/basketball/american-airlines-arena.htm

[4] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] > Doc Rivers: ‘LeBron James had 24 free throws, our team had 29′" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/05/31/doc-rivers-lebron-james-had-24-free-throws-our-team-had-29/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.