- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Paul Pierce: ‘We needed a team effort’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On June 2, 2012 @ 3:08 am In General | 1 Comment


brightcove.createExperiences();

Yes, the Celtics [1] had Rajon Rondo [2], Paul Pierce [3] and Kevin Garnett [4] all score at least 20 points Friday night in the 101-91 Game 3 win over the Heat. But Friday night’s must-have win over Miami had a much different feel.

Instead of just seven points from the bench (as was the case Wednesday), the Celtics watched as four players combined for 19 points, led by Marquis Daniels [5], who scored nine in nearly 20 minutes of action. Michael Pietrus also played nearly 20 minutes while Keyon Dooling [6] played 17, Ryan Hollins [7] played six and Greg Stiemsma [8] played three.

‘€œIt was huge,” said Pierce, who scored 23 in 40 minutes. “We needed a team effort. Guys on the bench, they are registered professional. Marquis hasn’€™t really played a lot for us in this series, but when his name was called upon he was ready. That’€™s what being a professional is all about. Every day he comes in, gets his work in. [Doc Rivers [9]] called upon him tonight, he did a tremendous job guarding Lebron. He even contributed on the offensive end and that was huge for us. The bench was tremendous tonight. We needed everything.’€

Pierce also sent a message similar to the 2004 Red Sox [10]. The Heat have never lost a series leading 2-0. The Celtics are trying to buck the odds by winning a series down, 0-2.

‘€œWe’€™ve been able to bounce back,” Pierce said. “We know we’re capable. We’ve got to take it one game at a time. We’€™re not going to lose confidence being down 2-0. We don’€™t look at the statistics. We don’€™t look at the records. Records are made to be broken. You know, usually they say being down 2-0, what happens, but we don’€™t believe in that stuff. We’re just going to take it one game at a time. Hopefully hold down our home court Game 4, and see what happens when we come back from Miami.’€

Friday’s win guarantees there will be a Game 5 in Miami on Tuesday. A win Sunday night will guarantee a Game 6 back in Boston next Thursday. So, how important is Game 4?

‘€œEvery game is important,” Pierce said. “Definitely you want to defend your home court. You don’€™t want to get in a situation where you go down 3-1 and then they have two games left at home. It doesn’€™t really figure in your chances. You’€™re not the favorite anymore. Hopefully, the crowd come back with that same energy for us in a couple days and we’€™ll take Game 4.

‘€œIt feels good. Especially after we felt like we had a chance at Game 2-how we let it slip in our hands- so it’€™s good to come back home and get a quality win.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/06/02/paul-pierce-we-needed-a-team-effort/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[6] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[7] Ryan Hollins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ryan-hollins.htm

[8] Greg Stiemsma: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-stiemsma.htm

[9] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[10] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[11] > Paul Pierce: ‘We needed a team effort’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/06/02/paul-pierce-we-needed-a-team-effort/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.