- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Brandon Bass re-signs with Celtics

Posted By Paul Flannery On July 5, 2012 @ 5:00 pm In General | 47 Comments

Brandon Bass [1] never wanted to leave, and now he won’t have to. The veteran power forward agreed to a three-year deal with the Celtics [2], per a league source, filling a major hole in the team’s front line. Bass told the Herald that the deal was for $20 million total, but it’s unclear how the deal breaks down in terms of an annual salary.

Using reported figures for Bass, Kevin Garnett [3] and free agent guard Jason Terry [4] while adding in rookie contracts for first-round picks Jared Sullinger and Fab Melo, the Celtics have committed an estimated $56 million to nine players.

The key word there is estimated. It’s important to note that new contracts can’t be officially signed and finalized until July 11 when the league completes its internal audit and arrives at a salary cap number as well as a luxury tax threshold.

By using the full mid-level exception to sign Terry, the Celtics would commit themselves to staying under the salary tax apron, which is expected to be a little more than $74 million. Once a team goes over the apron, it can’t use the full mid-level or the bi-annual exception and the cap becomes a hard cap.

Yes, this all gets confusing, but as it stands the Celtics have somewhere in the vicinity of $18 million to complete their roster with Jeff Green [5] and Ray Allen [6] still unsigned, as well as other internal free agents like Mickael Pietrus [7] and Greg Stiemsma [8]. It’s also worth noting that the Celtics have E’Twaun Moore [9] and Sean Williams [10] signed to non-guaranteed minimum contracts.

Allen met with the Heat on Thursday and the Associated Press reported that he would spend the night in Miami after a planned meeting with the Clippers on Friday was canceled in the wake of the Clippers agreeing to terms with Jamal Crawford [11]. With Los Angeles out of the picture it appears to be a two-team race for Allen, although the Grizzlies [12] have also expressed interest.

Miami is limited to offering Allen the taxpayer mid-level, which starts around $3.1 million per year. The Celtics have offered a two-year, $12 million deal. The Boston Herald reported [13] that they could include a no-trade or a trade kicker in the deal.

As for Green, his agent David Falk said that he was optimistic a deal would get done, although it might not happen until next week. Falk reiterated that Green’s goal was to return to Boston. The Celtics had Green signed to a one-year deal for $9 million last season before an aortic aneurysm was detected, so it’s not out of line to expect a new deal to be constructed along similar parameters.

In other words, it’s still possible for the Celtics to bring back Allen and Green and still have enough left to complete the roster, but it will be tight. The deal for Bass is another strong step in that direction. Locking up a starting power forward for less than $7 million a year is an exceptionally savvy signing.

Bass averaged a career-high 12.5 points and 6.2 rebounds for the Celtics this past season after he was acquired from the Magic in a sign-and-trade involving Glen Davis [14]. After beginning the season as the team’s sixth man, Bass joined the starting lineup for good after the All-Star break and helped the Celtics surge back into contention.

One of the game’s top mid-range-shooting big men, Bass made 48 percent of his shots from 16-23 feet, a percentage that put him on par with big man All-Stars like Dallas’ Dirk Nowitzki [15] and Celtics teammate Kevin Garnett. The Celtics love his ability to make shots because that helps open up the court for Rajon Rondo [16]‘s slashing game.

With Bass back in place, Garnett will presumably stay at the center position although their frontline still needs work before it can be completed. Still, the Celtics’ lineup is beginning to take shape.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/07/05/brandon-bass-re-signs-with-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] Mickael Pietrus: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mickael-pietrus.htm

[8] Greg Stiemsma: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-stiemsma.htm

[9] E’Twaun Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/etwaun-moore.htm

[10] Sean Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sean-williams.htm

[11] Jamal Crawford: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jamal-crawford.htm

[12] Grizzlies: http://media.weei.com/basketball/grizzlies.htm

[13] The Boston Herald reported: http://bostonherald.com/sports/basketball/celtics/view/20220705celts_offer_to_allen_is_money_in_the_bank/

[14] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[15] Dirk Nowitzki: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dirk-nowitzki.htm

[16] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[17] > Brandon Bass re-signs with Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/07/05/brandon-bass-re-signs-with-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.