- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Jason Terry: I’m the JET (not Ray Allen) and “I like to fly”

Posted By Mike Petraglia On September 29, 2012 @ 1:30 pm In General | No Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

WALTHAM — Veteran guard Jason Terry [1] was prepared Friday at Celtics [2] media day to handle the question he knew was coming – how does it feel to be replacing Ray Allen [3]?

“Who?,” the 35-year-old Terry said with a straight face. “No, we’re two different players and hopefully, I’ll bring something that Ray didn’t and some of the things that he did. Obviously, Ray was a great player for this franchise for years, brought them a championship in ’08. But, again, our games are totally different. He’s 6-5 and I’m 6-2, but I am “The Jet” and I like to fly so we’ll see what happens. A lot of those comparisons will be thrown out there but we’re two totally different players.

“For me, my job, it doesn’t change. I’ll be thrust into the sixth-man role. But hey, I’m on one of the best. It is what it is, and I take pride in it. It’s something every team needs, that spark, that energy off the bench and that’s what I’m here to do. Anything other than that, I won’t be doing my job. I don’t want to let these guys down. KG has already talked to me about what it means for him to win another championship, [Rajon Rondo [4]] tells me every day what it means to win another one. And Paul Pierce [5], he’s looking great and he’s in great shape and condition. They know, they’re champions.”

Terry said he’s been inspired by the veterans like Rondo, Pierce and Kevin Garnett [6] to be a leader for the bench.

“So now, for me as a veteran player, it’s [my job] to help these young guys, those guys we’re going to need off the bench, be the leader for them and help them understand what it’s going to mean to win a championship,” he said. “There is no other goal. The goal is to win a championship and I believe this year we have the talent, the coaching staff, the fans to get the job done. We believe it, we believe it to a man that we will win.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/09/29/jason-terry-im-the-jet-not-ray-allen-and-i-like-to-fly/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] > Jason Terry: I’m the JET (not Ray Allen) and “I like to fly”" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/09/29/jason-terry-im-the-jet-not-ray-allen-and-i-like-to-fly/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.