- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Irish Coffee: Celtics’ Rajon Rondo offers insight into why he believes he’s NBA’s best point guard

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 10, 2012 @ 9:31 am In General | 5 Comments

After Rajon Rondo [1] proclaimed himself the NBA’s best point guard over the summer, the Celtics [2] All-Star has been asked to clarify at some point during almost every interview he’s conducted since, except there’s no clarification.

He believes it, and he hasn’t backed down from it, as evidenced once again in Steve DeOssie‘s cover story for Boston Common magazine [3]. While most people not named Rondo readily admitted they’d take Chris Paul [4] over him a year ago — and maybe even Derrick Rose [5], Deron Williams and Russell Westbrook [6], too — the C’s floor general certainly closed the gap during the playoffs. In fact, he might have eliminated the gap completely.

After all, Rondo led the league in assists by a full dime over Steve Nash [7] last season and averaged almost three more assists than any other point guard in the postseason. Few outside of Magic Johnson [8] could replicate Rondo’s 44 points, 10 assists and eight rebounds in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference finals against the Heat. There’s more to Rondo than meets the eye, and that’s what he believes separates him from the pack.

In DeOssie’s piece, Rondo not only reiterates his claim to the throne, but he clarifies exactly why he thinks so:

  • ‘€œIn some areas some guys might be better than me, but overall, if you lay it all out, I think I am the best.’€
  • ‘€œIt’€™s always the whole package. Some fans look at a point guard and say he had 26 points, seven assists, and eight rebounds, and they’€™ll say he had a great game. But there is a lot of talent in the NBA, and eventually that talent catches up with you. The mental game is where it’€™s at. I would say the game is 80 percent mental and 20 percent physical, for me at least. What separates great players from good ones is performing consistently. I can dominate the game in any number of ways, not just with the numbers.’€
  • ‘€œMy definition of what a good point guard is might be different from what some others might think. I’€™ll give you an example: If Doc Rivers [9] gets thrown out, I can run the team for the rest of the game. I know what plays to call, what sets to call, or when to call timeouts. It’€™s more than keeping track of the score. There is so much more going on that you take for granted on any given night, and there are only so many guys who can run a team when you don’€™t have a coach. In that category I think I am the best at what I do.’€
  • ‘€œThe Celtics and their fans don’€™t just want X number of wins and playoffs. We all want championships … and the banners prove that. For me it’€™s a good thing. There is a lot more pressure in Boston to win than there is almost anywhere else. I love it. I feed off of it.’€

The article also offers insight into Rondo’s fashion sense and under-the-radar charitable efforts. In unrelated Celtics news, The Onion poked fun [10] at the Kevin Garnett [11] and Ray Allen [12] feud; Paul Pierce [13] wants to dominate [14] actor Ed Norton in Words With Friends; and Rivers tells the Herald [15]‘s Mark Murphy [16] why preseason minutes for Dionte Christmas, Jamar Smith and Kris Joseph don’t mean much in their competition for roster spots.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/10/10/irish-coffee-celtics-rajon-rondo-offers-insight-into-why-he-believes-hes-nbas-best-point-guard/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] cover story for Boston Common magazine: http://bostoncommon-magazine.com/personalities/articles/rajon-rondo-steve-deossie-boston-celtics

[4] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[5] Derrick Rose: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-rose.htm

[6] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[7] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[8] Magic Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/magic-johnson.htm

[9] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[10] poked fun: http://www.theonion.com/articles/kevin-garnett-no-longer-on-roaring-terms-with-ray,29858/

[11] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[12] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[13] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[14] wants to dominate: http://allball.blogs.nba.com/2012/09/27/pierce-is-out-to-flex-linguistic-muscles/

[15] Rivers tells the Herald: http://www.bostonherald.com/sports/basketball/celtics/view/20221010christmas_spirit_energetic_guard_works_to_find_place_with_cs/srvc=home&position=recent

[16] Mark Murphy: http://media.weei.com/football/mark-murphy-packers.htm

[17] > Irish Coffee: Celtics’ Rajon Rondo offers insight into why he believes he’s NBA’s best point guard" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/10/10/irish-coffee-celtics-rajon-rondo-offers-insight-into-why-he-believes-hes-nbas-best-point-guard/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.