- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics eye outside help after waiving Dionte Christmas and Jamar Smith

Posted By Paul Flannery On October 16, 2012 @ 8:31 pm In General | No Comments

It was a tough decision the Celtics [1] made when they waived Jamar Smith and Dionte Christmas prior to Tuesday night’s home exhibition opener against the Nets [2]. It wasn’t so much that the pair did anything wrong, but that the Celtics are looking to add another veteran player and they needed the extra roster spot. It’s possible they could add another player by the end of the week, sources said.

It’s unclear the direction they’ll go in yet, but coach Doc Rivers [3] said that it didn’t necessarily have to be in the backcourt where the C’s are dealing with the unexpected retirement of Keyon Dooling [4] and the injury absence of Avery Bradley [5].

“We’€™re always looking. It would be great to get another guy, at any position,” Rivers said. “We can’€™t forget that Avery is coming back so we don’€™t want to overdo that point guard thing. When you count Courtney Lee [6] and [Jason Terry [7]] and Avery, all three are ballhandlers. None of the three are pure point guards, but they certainly can play together.”

The moves would also seem to open a path for second-round pick Kris Joseph to make the team. The Celtics have 13 players under guaranteed contract and Rivers said he thought they would have the full 15-play compliment heading into the season. For a team that’s up against the tax-line, Joseph’s $473K rookie contract is a good fit.

Still, the rookie from Syracuse has work to do.

“You can see the ability there,” Rivers said. “He really hasn’€™t done anything yet. We look at a lot of tings when we decide to keep a guy or not keep a guy. We like what he can potentially do, but he has done nothing yet.”

If nothing else it’s a reminder that nothing in this league is guaranteed until it is and that competition isn’t just internal.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/10/16/celtics-eye-outside-help-after-waiving-dionte-christmas-and-jamar-smith/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Keyon Dooling: http://media.weei.com/basketball/keyon-dooling.htm

[5] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[6] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[7] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[8] > Celtics eye outside help after waiving Dionte Christmas and Jamar Smith" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/10/16/celtics-eye-outside-help-after-waiving-dionte-christmas-and-jamar-smith/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.