- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers: Celtics are ‘probably behind’ where they need to be

Posted By Mike Petraglia On November 5, 2012 @ 5:43 pm In General | No Comments

WALTHAM — Doc Rivers [1] can see what every Celtics [2] fan sees. The team is 1-2 to start the season and not playing the basketball everyone envisioned when they brought back Kevin Garnett [3] and added Jason Terry [4], Jeff Green [5], Leandro Barbosa [6] and Jared Sullinger to a cast that lost to Miami in Game 7 of the Eastern finals last June.

“Probably behind,” Rivers said after Monday’s practice. “We have a great first half in Washington, that is what we needed to see. But I didn’€™t think we sustained it. I just think everyone is starting to figure out that, to be a good team, you have to actually work at it. And it’€™s hard work. You just don’t show up because you have good names on a piece of paper and become good. You have to work at it, and you have to work hard at it. And it’€™s exhausting.”

Is conditioning all that’s missing from the team’s trademark D?

“Yeah, but I think we’re in good enough condition to be a good defensive team. I think that’s more of the buy-in and the trust and the communication.”

The Celtics finished Monday’s two-hour practice with conditioning drills in 5-on-5 sets. Rivers is clearly concerned with his team’s ability to finish games defensively, after the Wizards erased two double-digit deficits in the fourth quarter only to have Paul Pierce [7] save the game with a 3-point shot with under three minutes left.

The first half, when the Celtics raced to leads of 17-2 and 26-10, was a different story – one that after watching on film – made Rivers think the team is close.

“I thought we played defense, we got into the ball, there was ball pressure, there was talking,” Rivers said. “The first seven or eight minutes, [Washington] struggled to get a shot off, let alone score a basket. Then as the game went on, you can see us slowly moving away from it. I don’€™t know if that’€™s breaking old habits from other places, or if that’€™s conditioning. When you watch it on film, you think it’€™s a little bit of both.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/11/05/doc-rivers-celtics-are-probably-behind-on-the-path-of-success/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] > Doc Rivers: Celtics are ‘probably behind’ where they need to be" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/11/05/doc-rivers-celtics-are-probably-behind-on-the-path-of-success/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.