- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers: Leandro Barbosa ‘bailed us out’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On November 14, 2012 @ 11:46 pm In General | No Comments

Outside of trainer Ed Lacerte, Leandro Barbosa [1] was the most important member of the Celtics [2] bench Wednesday night as he scored 16 points and steadied the ship when its leader Rajon Rondo [3] went down with a sprained right ankle midway through the third quarter. The Celtics were able to hold off the Jazz [4], 98-93, Wednesday night at TD Garden.

But as coach Doc Rivers [5] points out, it wasn’t just his time replacing Rondo and running the point in the second half that turned out to be so important.

‘€œBarbosa was terrific,” Rivers said. “I mean, he bailed us out. Not only just replacing Rondo; I thought in the first half ‘€“ I thought our starters started the game out pretty flat and I thought our second unit with Courtney Lee [6] and Barbosa, Jared [Sullinger], that group gave us a spurt, Jeff Green [7]. And then obviously Rondo goes out in the second half and just putting LB in and we didn’€™t run much because he doesn’€™t know much. But everything was basically pick-and-rolls. We told him to just keep attacking to the basket and we’€™ll figure it out from there.’€

Barbosa was so good, in fact, it kept Rivers from considering his worst nightmare, life without Rondo.

‘€œIt’€™s going to happen,” Rivers acknowledged. “He’€™s not going to play all 82 [games], I doubt. It’€™d be nice. You know how I think, guys, the next guy, just somebody has to step up and we have to figure it out. And tonight was a great example that we did that. We had other options; you could put JET [Jason Terry [8]] in at the point. I mean, it was just one of those games. I thought the big lineup, or our semi-big lineup with Paul [Pierce] and Jeff changed the game for us as well. We had a post presence with those guys. So, it was an interesting game. When we get outrebounded by what we did, 18-4 [offensive rebounds], it’€™s hard to win a basketball game. And yet we still won it.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/11/14/doc-rivers-leandro-barbosa-bailed-us-out/

URLs in this post:

[1] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[7] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[9] > Doc Rivers: Leandro Barbosa ‘bailed us out’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/11/14/doc-rivers-leandro-barbosa-bailed-us-out/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.