- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Courtney Lee: Doc Rivers ‘can continue to call us soft … if it wakes us up’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On December 1, 2012 @ 1:29 am In General | No Comments

Courtney Lee [1]

Jeff Green [2] might have scored 19 points and Jason Terry [3] might have had 17 in 31 minutes but it was Courtney Lee who was the key player in Boston’s 96-78 win over the Trail Blazers Friday night at TD Garden, as the Celtics [4] played the first of two straight games without the suspended Rajon Rondo [5].

Lee said the team responded well to Doc Rivers [6] calling them soft after a loss to the Brooklyn Nets Wednesday night at home.

“He can continue to call us soft,” Lee said afterward. “If we’re going to respond like this and play, I guess we need to be told that for us to wake up.”

What really hit home with Lee was when Rivers rolled the film of Wednesday’s game, showing the team how many easy baskets they were giving up.

“We got called soft the other day and we didn’t like that,” Lee said. “When you watch the tape, you see those guys [Nets] coming down, running their offense, setting hard screens, getting layups and dunks and wide open shots. We took that personally.”

No shock that the turnaround began on the defensive end, where the Celtics held the Blazers to 23 percent shooting in the first half.

‘€œYeah, definitely after that loss last game, we wanted to come out and just focus on the defensive end make sure we got stops,” Lee said. “Make sure we didn’€™t give up any easy buckets and so I think we started off and threw the first punch.’€

Rivers gave Lee credit for stepping up and showing his play-making ability in the absence of Rondo.

‘€œCourtney was great,” Rivers said. “You could see Courtney is getting better and better at what we’€™re asking him to do. He’€™s bought in completely, which you can see that. His shots will fall. I feel like him, with Avery (Avery Bradley [7]) last year, where I kept telling you guys ‘€˜Avery can shoot’€™ and you guys were looking at me like I was a Martian. And then he started making them. And Courtney is proving he can. He’€™s getting wide open ones, and eventually they’€™ll fall.’€

“I mean that’€™s what you gotta do,” Lee said of his ball-handling skills. “Rondo is a great playmaker, the guy’€™s gonna rack up a lot of assists, so we just have to play within the offense, move the ball around, and you see the assists were spread out throughout the whole team. Without him we had to move the ball a lot more.

‘€œI mean it shows good character for our team. We got beat bad on our own court then we went to practice, had a real tough practice. Doc was on us the whole time so we wanted to come in and protect home court, because we cant keep letting teams come in and beat us on our home court. We wanted to bounce back and we did that today.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/12/01/courtney-lee-doc-rivers-can-continue-to-call-us-soft-if-it-wakes-us-up/

URLs in this post:

[1] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[2] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[3] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[8] > Courtney Lee: Doc Rivers ‘can continue to call us soft … if it wakes us up’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/12/01/courtney-lee-doc-rivers-can-continue-to-call-us-soft-if-it-wakes-us-up/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.