- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers: ‘Just glad’ Austin Rivers is playing while Avery Bradley provides ‘great news’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On December 5, 2012 @ 8:04 pm In General | No Comments

Sometimes Celtics [1] head coach Doc Rivers [2] sounds a lot like Bill Belichick [3].

Such was the case Wednesday pre-game when he was told that Avery Bradley [4] told reporters he’s “maybe a week or two” from returning to practice after a pair of shoulder surgeries.

“Is that right? That’s great to hear,” Rivers said with a hearty laugh and smile. “I’m very happy to hear the news! Honestly, I didn’t know that because I don’t check. [Trainer Eddie Lacerte] will tell us when it’s time. I don’t focus on that stuff, guys being out. I have to focus on the guys wearing the uniform. With Avery, I talk to him every day and see how he’s doing, and I kid him about it but I don’t really ask.”

Rivers also spoke about his son Austin playing for the New Orleans Hornets [5], who may be on the verge of changing their name. Names like the Pelicans and Brass have been thrown out there to give the team a more regional flare. “I’m just glad he’s playing,” Rivers said.

On the return of Greg Stiemsma [6]: “I’d love to have him here but I’m happy for him. He took advantage of a great situation, and I’m glad he did. He was terrific here.”

On Kevin Garnett [7] and his impact on the Celtics and Timberwolves [8]: “There’s a Hall of Fame and then there’s a table at the Hall of Fame Kevin has a table at the Hall of Fame”

Rivers said that Leandro Barbosa [9] showed up Wednesday and will dress but is hoping to stay away from playing him as he is still under the weather.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/12/05/doc-rivers-just-glad-austin-rivers-is-playing-while-avery-bradley-great-news/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Bill Belichick: http://media.weei.com/football/bill-belichick.htm

[4] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[5] New Orleans Hornets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-orleans-hornets.htm

[6] Greg Stiemsma: http://media.weei.com/basketball/greg-stiemsma.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[9] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[10] > Doc Rivers: ‘Just glad’ Austin Rivers is playing while Avery Bradley provides ‘great news’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/12/05/doc-rivers-just-glad-austin-rivers-is-playing-while-avery-bradley-great-news/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.