- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers pregame on the Bucks again, ‘The Jasons’ lineup and Larry Sanders

Posted By Mike Petraglia On December 21, 2012 @ 7:40 pm In General | 1 Comment

Chris Wilcox [1] (right thumb) and Leandro Barbosa [2] (personal matter, not with the team) will be out for Friday’s game against the Milwaukee Bucks [3].

With those two out, the Celtics [4] recalled rookie forward Kris Joseph from the Maine Red Claws on Friday.

Other notes:

The Celtics are playing the Bucks for a fourth time in the first six weeks of the season, with Boston trailing the series 1-2. That could be a factor if the two are vying for playoff positioning late in the season. Boston stands 13-12 heading into the game while the Bucks are a half-game better at 13-11.

“What’€™s funny is, I don’€™t think any of the lineups have been the same on either team,” Rivers said. “It’s four new games every time we play them. It’€™s early, I tell you, I obviously don’€™t love that. I just think you should play a team in your conference late in the season. But we’€™re going to make it up, we’€™re going to play the Knicks four times after this.”

Doc Rivers [5] will stick with “The Jasons” lineup featuring Jason Terry [6] at shooting guard and Jason Collins [7] at center for a second straight game.

“I’€™ve said this 100 times – the starting lineup is not as important as everyone thinks it is,” said Rivers. “I did that more from Kevin. In one way, just to get him some minutes at the 4 instead of the 5. And then, until Avery [Bradley [8]] comes back, for Jason Terry to get a shot. But other than that, I did like it, because Jason — you don’€™t know which one, so I’€™ll let you figure it out — his talking was terrific, it helped Kevin. I hope you guys can figure that one out.”

Rivers said he did like the impact it had on Kevin Garnett [9], who had 12 points and six rebounds in 31 minutes of the win over Cleveland.

“He seemed like he had more energy,” Rivers said. “It’€™s one game, so it’€™s tough thing to look at. If we play well tonight — we’€™ll find out in a month what it does really. It looks like he had more energy, because he had another guy covering for him and he didn’€™t feel like he had to do everything on defense.”

Rivers compared Bucks shot-blocker and big man Larry Sanders to Thunder big Serge Ibaka: “We should probably stop shooting when he’€™s right there. That would probably help, because he always blocks your shot. It’€™s funny, he does it to everybody. I actually told my son, Austin, when they played the Bucks, I said, ‘€˜Hey Austin, be careful with Sanders, you get a step deep and he’€™ll get you.’€™ I think his first two shots were blocked, so I was thinking, ‘€˜Nothing changes. No one listens.’€™”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/12/21/doc-rivers-pregame-on-the-bucks-again-the-jasons-lineup-and-larry-sanders/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[2] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[3] Milwaukee Bucks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/milwaukee-bucks.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[7] Jason Collins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-collins.htm

[8] Avery [Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[9] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[10] > Doc Rivers pregame on the Bucks again, ‘The Jasons’ lineup and Larry Sanders" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2012/12/21/doc-rivers-pregame-on-the-bucks-again-the-jasons-lineup-and-larry-sanders/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.