- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett: ‘This game was not some sort of foreplay’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 5, 2013 @ 10:09 am In General | No Comments

Kevin Garnett [1] has a way with words unlike any other Celtic. He knows what to say and when to say it, especially to his teammates.

That showed Friday night after the Celtics [2] disposed of the Pacers, 94-75, at TD Garden, a game in which he was ejected for a shot to the face of Tyler Hansbrough [3] with just over eight minutes left in the fourth quarter.

‘€œI was firm, I didn’€™t mean to get him in the face like that, I was actually trying to swipe the ball but it was a physical game and they called it the way it was, part of the game,” Garnett said of the “flagrant-2″ foul that earned him the rest of the night off.

Garnett and Doc Rivers [4] have been pleading with the Celtics to stay true to the defensive principles that have been the cornerstone of the Celtics for the past five seasons. Friday night, Garnett had plenty of help on defense from Avery Bradley [5] and Paul Pierce [6].

Was this type of ugly game, one that featured 107 missed shots, the kind of game that the Celtics need to play to get themselves out of the funk they’ve been in?

‘€œThis game was not some type of foreplay,” Garnett said. “I thought we came out firm and aggressive on both ends, but more importantly defensively. I thought we stayed sound for 48 minutes no matter who was in. Avery made a very very big impact on the game, I thought Paul’s defense was very energetic, and we followed those guys lead. You could tell from how we came into the locker room that we really needed this win.

‘€œYou know, since we’€™ve been in this funk, Doc’€™s been saying that through out this tough ordeal that we have to continue to play defense no matter what we’€™re doing. Offense cannot dictate defense. I feel like for the most part we did just that. Some nights you click, some nights you don’€™t, and tonight we just knew we needed to win to stop the bleeding and I feel like we went out and did it.’€

The message to Courtney Lee [7], Jason Terry [8] and Jeff Green [9]?

‘€œThere’€™s no perfect answer to this, there’€™s no perfect situations,” Garnett said. “Everyone has to accept their roles wholeheartedly and embrace it, and tonight I think we did. Being consistent with those roles is what we want to be, if we want to be anything of a good team, everyone is going to have to fill those roles. It was just a full team effort from a defensive standpoint.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/05/kevin-garnett-this-game-was-not-some-sort-of-foreplay/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Tyler Hansbrough: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyler-hansbrough.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[8] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[9] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[10] > Kevin Garnett: ‘This game was not some sort of foreplay’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/05/kevin-garnett-this-game-was-not-some-sort-of-foreplay/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.