- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett talks Jared Sullinger but not Carmelo Anthony

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 9, 2013 @ 11:34 pm In General | No Comments

Kevin Garnett [1] thinks Jared Sullinger is playing like a “madman” on the glass. And that’s just what these Celtics [2] need right now. On Wednesday night, the rookie out of Ohio State had 16 rebounds and 12 points and powered the Celtics to an 87-79 win over the Phoenix Suns [3] at TD Garden.

What makes a great rebounder?

‘€œFirst off is effort,” Garnett began. “Anytime you’€™re playing defense, anytime youre stealing the ball, rebounding’€¦all that’€™s effort. Obviously his timing, body positioning, he has the perfect body for rebounding. He can take the pounding and bump a little bit and he has great anticipation when it comes to the ball, and he has great hands. Put all that in the pot, you got Jared Sullinger, that’€™s what makes him great.’€

Apparently, Sullinger has been paying close attention to Garnett when learning how to respond, using his words carefully and economically when asked about his secret to good rebounding.

‘€œYou gotta have a go get it attitude when it comes to rebounding and that’€™s what I have,” a confident Sullinger said.

Sullinger is just one part of a Celtics bench that carried the load Wednesday night, as Sullinger, Jason Terry [4] and Jeff Green [5] were all in double figures in scoring. But Garnett pointed out another member of the bench who shouldn’t be overlooked.

‘€œI think the combination of Courtney Lee [6] and no disrespect to Rondo or any other guards we got, but Courtney Lee and Avery are impacting the game from a defensive stand point from the guard position where it all trickles down to all the forwards,” Garnett said. “When we see them up like that, we get up and then we up to what we call major pressure. Any time you can pressure the guards and take time off the shot clock, you put the other team into a panic and now they gotta go into a pic and roll versus some play the were gonna call on us.

‘€œI don’€™t know, you know. But they’€™ll definitely start to make some noise. I think Doc’€™s starting to understand the rotation he’€™s going with, and I think the rotation we are going with, he’€™s confident in it, and everybody kind of knows their niche right now.’€

But as for his thoughts on Carmelo Anthony and his one-game suspension for waiting outside the Celtics locker room and team bus to confront him after Monday’s game, Garnett had only this to say: “Okay, you all have a good night, okay?”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/09/kevin-garnett-talks-jared-sullinger-but-not-carmelo-anthony/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[4] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[7] > Kevin Garnett talks Jared Sullinger but not Carmelo Anthony" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/09/kevin-garnett-talks-jared-sullinger-but-not-carmelo-anthony/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.