- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Jared Sullinger and Paul Pierce get revenge on the Rockets

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 11, 2013 @ 9:58 pm In General | 9 Comments

Paul Pierce [1] scored 23 points while Jared Sullinger had 14 points and 11 rebounds off the bench as the Celtics [2] withstood a late charge from the Rockets to win their fifth straight, 103-91, Friday night at TD Garden. Kevin Garnett [3] added 17 points and eight rebounds and Courtney Lee [4] had 14 points for the Celtics, who improve to 19-17 on the season.

James Harden [5] had 21 and Jeremy Lin [6] added 12 points for the Rockets, who had to settle for a season split of their series with the Celtics. Houston beat Boston, 101-89, on Dec. 14 at the Toyota Center in Houston.

Early on, it was a game of runs. The Celtics jumped out to an 8-4 lead before the Rockets responded with a 13-0 spurt, as Jeremy Lin and James Harden hit 3-pointers in the spurt. But the Celtics came back with a 14-2 run of their own as Jeff Green [7] and Courtney Lee hit consecutive threes. Boston took a 24-21 lead after 12 minutes.

Sullinger took over in the second quarter and led a bench effort that dominated for the second straight game. Sullinger had 14 points and eight rebounds in the first half. Those were the same numbers posted by Celtics starters combined until Pierce hit a three with 1:27 left in the second quarter. The Celtics bench had a season-high 36 points in the first half, outscoring the Houston reserves, 36-9, and taking a 53-45 halftime lead.

While the Celtics were held without a free throw in the first half, the Rockets self-destructed at the line, converting just 5-of-12 from the charity stripe. The Rockets finished the game a miserable 12-of-29 from the line.

Pierce came out on fire in the third quarter scoring eight of Boston’s first nine points in a 9-0 run that stretched the lead to 17. Pierce finished the third with 11 points and the Celtics led 78-66 going into the fourth.

The Rockets finally heated up in the fourth quarter and took advantage of Celtics sloppiness and a key foul. Sullinger picked up his fifth foul with 10:01 left and the Celtics leading 83-69. Houston scored the next 12 points thanks to several turnovers. The run was finished off when Harden fed Parsons for a one-handed dunk over Pierce with 7:22 left in the fourth, cutting Boston’s lead to two, 83-81.

But it was Pierce to the rescue. Pierce ended the Rockets’ 12-0 run with a basket with just under seven minutes left. Moments later, he was fouled on his layup and converted the three-point play to put Boston up, 92-82, with 5:51 left. A Garnett fadeaway jumper with 4:42 put the Celtics up, 94-82.

The Celtics continue their five-game homestand on Monday night against the Charlotte Bobcats [8]. For more, visit the Celtics team page at weei.com/celtics [9].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/11/jared-sullinger-and-paul-pierce-get-revenge-on-the-rockets/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[5] James Harden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-harden.htm

[6] Jeremy Lin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeremy-lin.htm

[7] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[9] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[10] > Jared Sullinger and Paul Pierce get revenge on the Rockets" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/11/jared-sullinger-and-paul-pierce-get-revenge-on-the-rockets/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.