- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Austin Rivers wins bragging rights over Doc

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On January 16, 2013 @ 10:29 pm In General | 2 Comments

Austin Rivers scored just eight points in 22 minutes against the Celtics [1], but he walked out of TD Garden with bragging rights against his father. C’s coach Doc Rivers [2] watched as his team blew an early double-digit lead and snapped a six-game winning streak in a 90-78 loss to the Hornets.

Five Hornets (12-27) reached double figures, led by Robin Lopez‘s 17 points, and New Orleans won the rebound battle, 47-33. Greivis Vasquez (15 points, 11 rebounds) and Anthony Davis [3] each had double-doubles.

Kevin Garnett [4]‘s 15 points led the Celtics. Paul Pierce [5] (10 rebounds) and Jason Terry [6] each scored 12. Rajon Rondo [7] had 11 assists but just seven points.

WHAT WENT WRONG

First-half lapse: Mainly behind the starting five, the Celtics built a 21-10 lead in the game’s first nine minutes. Mainly against the C’s reserves, the Hornets slowly chipped away until a four-minute stretch midway through the second quarter, when the Celtics committed four turnovers and missed three jumpers. That’s when the young New Orleans squad snatched their first lead of the game, eventually taking a 44-43 advantage into halftime.

Painting a poor picture: The Hornets’ first lead, 33-32, came after a pair of layups from Greivis Vasquez and Austin Rivers and a Jason Smith [8] dunk. That was quickly followed by an Al-Farouq Aminu dunk. The point? The Celtics allowed a whole lotta points in the paint (48 to be exact), and 22 of those first 33 points came in the key.

Too many freebies: Doc Rivers doesn’t want to see his team give up more than 14 turnovers, and he definitely doesn’t want them to allow more than 14 points off those giveaways. They turned the ball over 15 times, gifting the Hornets 21 points. Garnett, Rondo and Pierce were the biggest culprits, committing 10 between them. Of course, the C’s 6-of-16 free throw shooting didn’t help, either.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Bass first: It’s been five games since Brandon Bass [9] last scored 10 points, and after his first half, he seemed prepared to snap out of the drought. Bass made four of his first five shots, including a trio of jumpers, to score nine points by the break, but he attempted just one shot after the half and failed to reach double figures. He’s already lost minutes to Jared Sullinger, and he’ll need more stretches like he had in the game’s opening 24 minutes in order to keep Chris Wilcox [10] from taking even more.

Terry time: Likewise, Terry reached double digits after his first scoreless game of the season on Monday night. His performance was the lone bright spot off the bench, and it couldn’t have come at a better time, as he scored 10 of his 12 points on 4-for-4 shooting in the third quarter to keep the Celtics within five … against the Hornets.

3-point defense: The Celtics held New Orleans to just 2-for-17 shooting from beyond the arc, including 1-of-5 by former Magic sharpshooter Ryan Anderson [11]. It might’ve helped had the C’s shot better than 4-for-18 from 3.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/16/fast-break-austin-rivers-wins-bragging-rights-over-doc/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Anthony Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/anthony-davis.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] Jason Smith: http://media.weei.com/football/jason-smith.htm

[9] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[10] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[11] Ryan Anderson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ryan-anderson.htm

[12] > Fast Break: Austin Rivers wins bragging rights over Doc" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/16/fast-break-austin-rivers-wins-bragging-rights-over-doc/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.