- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers on Kevin Garnett as an All-Star: That’s ‘pretty cool’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 18, 2013 @ 6:43 pm In General | No Comments

Celtics [1] head coach Doc Rivers [2] said he was very happy for his players Rajon Rondo [3] and Kevin Garnett [4] to make the All-Star team. Before Friday’s game with the Bulls at TD Garden, Rivers said both were very worthy and deserving.

“I think it’s great,” Rivers said. “I think they both deserve it. It’s something Rondo, at this point of his life and age, really wants to do and make and probably Kevin wants the honor of it, especially with the fact Kevin didn’t make it last year and to make it this year is pretty cool.”

Rivers laughed when told that TNT NBA TV analysts Charles Barkley [5] and Shaquille O’Neal [6] said Garnett didn’t deserve to be starting on the Eastern squad in place of Tyson Chandler [7].

“I’ll let them talk,” Rivers added. “That’s fine. Kevin’s on it, right? That’s all that matters. There’s a lot of people that disagree with them.”

Rondo indicated before the game that he will target Garnett during the game in Houston, trying to feed him plenty of lobs to get him in the offense.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/18/doc-rivers-on-kevin-garnett-as-an-all-star-a-lot-of-people-disagreed-with-it/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Charles Barkley: http://media.weei.com/golf/charles-barkley.htm

[6] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[7] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[8] > Doc Rivers on Kevin Garnett as an All-Star: That’s ‘pretty cool’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/18/doc-rivers-on-kevin-garnett-as-an-all-star-a-lot-of-people-disagreed-with-it/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.