- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Paul Pierce left off Eastern Conference All-Star squad

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 24, 2013 @ 7:43 pm In General | 7 Comments

For just the second time in 13 seasons, Paul Pierce [1] did not earn a spot on the Eastern Conference All-Star squad as the reserves were announced Thursday night on national television prior to the Celtics [2]‘ game vs. the Knicks [3].

Pierce is leading the Celtics in scoring at 18.9 points per game and has started all 41 games for the Celtics, but that wasn’t enough to win a spot on the team. Pierce didn’t make it in 2007 when his season was shortened due to a stress reaction in his foot. The last time a healthy Pierce was left off the All-Star team was 2001, just his third season in the NBA.

Joining starters Rajon Rondo [4], Dwyane Wade [5], LeBron James [6], Kevin Garnett [7] and Carmelo Anthony are five first-time All-Stars, including Tyson Chandler [8] (Knicks), Paul George (Pacers), Jrue Holiday (76ers), Kyrie Irving (Cavaliers [9]) and Joakim Noah [10] (Bulls). Miami’s Chris Bosh and Chicago’s Luol Deng, making his second consecutive All-Star appearance, round out the East reserves.

Joining Duncan as reserves in the West are LaMarcus Aldridge (Trail Blazers), James Harden [11] (Rockets), David Lee [12] (Warriors), Tony Parker [13] (Spurs), Zach Randolph [14] (Grizzlies [15]) and Russell Westbrook [16] (Thunder). It’€™s the first selection for Harden, in his first season with the Rockets. It’€™s the second All-Star nod for Lee, Randolph and Aldridge, while Westbrook earns his third consecutive trip to the All-Star Game. Parker is an All-Star for the fifth time in his career.

The 62nd NBA All-Star Game will be played at the Toyota Center in Houston on Feb. 17.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/24/paul-pierce-left-off-eastern-conference-all-star-squad/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Knicks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee-gators.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[6] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[9] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[10] Joakim Noah: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joakim-noah.htm

[11] James Harden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-harden.htm

[12] David Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-lee.htm

[13] Tony Parker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-parker.htm

[14] Zach Randolph: http://media.weei.com/basketball/zach-randolph.htm

[15] Grizzlies: http://media.weei.com/basketball/grizzlies.htm

[16] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[17] > Paul Pierce left off Eastern Conference All-Star squad" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/24/paul-pierce-left-off-eastern-conference-all-star-squad/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.