- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics blow 27-point lead against Hawks on way to sixth-straight loss

Posted By WEEI On January 25, 2013 @ 10:50 pm In General | 51 Comments

The Celtics [1] blew a 27-point first-half lead, eventually dropping a double-overtime, 123-111 loss to the Hawks in Atlanta. It was the Celts’€™ sixth-straight defeat.

According to Celtics’€™ play-by-play announcer Sean Grande the C’€™s had won 153 straight games when leading by more than 19 points, having last blown a lead as much as 27 points on Dec. 5, 2003 in Phoenix.

The Celts, who had jumped out to a 29-10 lead after one quarter, finally succumbed to the affects of playing back-to-back games, being out-scored, 16-4, in the second overtime. The visitors were also outscored 21-2 to start the third quarter.

‘€œI thought it changed once we put the starters in with about five minutes left in the second quarter,’€ Celtics coach Doc Rivers [2] told reporters after the game, adding, ‘€œI told our guys you can’€™t win without humility. ‘€¦ We started breaking rules you can’€™t break in grade school.’€

Both Kevin Garnett [3] and Jared Sullinger fouled out, with Garnett playing 38 minutes (scoring 24 points), while the rookie failed to score 24 minutes.

Rajon Rondo [4] did manager a triple-double, scoring 16 points, dishing out 11 assists and hauling in 10 rebounds. The Celtics’€™ bench also produced with the combination of Jeff Green [5], Courtney Lee [6] and Jason Terry [7] teamed for 45 points.

Atlanta exposed the Celtics from beyond the three-point line, with Kyle Korver making 8-of-12 from beyond the arc.

‘€œIt’€™s me,’€ Rivers said. ‘€œI have to figure out a way to push buttons with each individual. ‘€¦ I keep telling myself and telling my coaches we have the right group. But we have to act right.’€

For a complete recap, click here. [8]

For more Celtics news, go to the team page at weei.com/celtics [9].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/25/celtics-blow-27-point-lead-against-hawks-on-way-to-sixth-straight-loss/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[7] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[8] For a complete recap, click here.: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2013012501

[9] weei.com/celtics: http://greenstreet.weei.comweei.com/celtics

[10] > Celtics blow 27-point lead against Hawks on way to sixth-straight loss" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/25/celtics-blow-27-point-lead-against-hawks-on-way-to-sixth-straight-loss/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.