- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett, Jeff Green lead C’s in revenge win over DeMarcus Cousins and the Kings

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 30, 2013 @ 9:50 pm In General | 13 Comments

Brandon Bass [1], Jeff Green [2] and Jason Terry [3] each scored 12 points off the bench as the Celtics [4] beat the Kings, 99-81, Wednesday night at TD Garden. The Celtics, who won their second straight after six straight losses, gained revenge for a humbling 118-96 loss in Sacramento on Dec. 30, a game in which 22-year-old DeMarcus Cousins [5] registered a triple-double. Boston was able to contain Cousins Wednesday, holding him to 13 points and six rebounds.

Paul Pierce [6] came on in the second half to lead the Celtics with 16 points and 10 rebounds while Kevin Garnett [7] added 13 points and nine rebounds. Boston’s bench outscored Sacramento’s reserves, 50-26.

The Celtics raced out to an 8-0 lead to start the game as Garnett was red-hot early. The Celtics lost their starting power forward Jared Sullinger to back spasms just four minutes into the game. He received ice treatment in the locker room but could not return and was ruled out late in the second quarter.

The Kings recovered quickly and outscored the Celtics 24-14 to end the period as the visitors led, 24-22, after 12 minutes.

The Celtics couldn’t miss in the second quarter. They made a season-best 16-of-20 shots from the field, scorching the Kings with 80 percent shooting and outscoring the Kings, 37-14, in the period to take a commanding 59-38 halftime lead. The Celtics hit their first 14 shots of the quarter.

Green and Garnett were a combined 10-for-10 from the field in the first half, combining for 21 of Boston’s 59 points. The Celtics were able to do most of their damage without Paul Pierce, who was held scoreless until his layup and subsequent three-point play with 2:55 left in the first half.

Looking to avoid a meltdown like the one that cost them a 27-point lead last Friday in Atlanta, the Celtics actually expanded their lead to 28, 74-46, midway through the third.

But the Kings did make a run at the Celtics early in the fourth, cutting Boston’s lead down to 15, 82-67, on a flagrant-1 foul by Leandro Barbosa [8] on Tyreke Evans [9]. But the Celtics managed to stop the bleeding there and Pierce came down and responded with a basket to restore the lead to 17.

The Kings cut the lead back down to 14, 90-76, and had a rebound with a chance to narrow it more but committed a turnover in transition. But the Celtics looked awful in the next possession as Pierce held onto the ball near mid-court for a 24-second violation. The Kings would not get closer than 14 down the stretch.

The Celtics are off Thursday before returning to action on Friday against the Magic at TD Garden. The Celtics conclude their four-game homestand with a game against the Clippers on Sunday at 1 p.m. For complete coverage from the Garden from the team of Mike Petraglia and Ben Rohrbach, visit the Celtics team page at weei.com/celtics [10].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/30/kevin-garnett-jeff-green-lead-cs-in-revenge-win-over-demarcus-cousins-and-the-kings/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[2] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[3] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] DeMarcus Cousins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/demarcus-cousins.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[9] Tyreke Evans: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyreke-evans.htm

[10] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[11] > Kevin Garnett, Jeff Green lead C’s in revenge win over DeMarcus Cousins and the Kings" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/01/30/kevin-garnett-jeff-green-lead-cs-in-revenge-win-over-demarcus-cousins-and-the-kings/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.